Wireless Syncing?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by DaGrandMastah, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. DaGrandMastah macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
    #1
    So I loaded everything up and ios is working 5. I was trying to load up my music but I can't seem to get wireless syncing to work properly. To make matters worse, I had about 5 gb of music loaded up and was trying to make some changes wirelessly, synced everything and when I went to check my iphone all my music was gone. Anyone have any issues with it?

    Also, is wireless syncing a lot slower then normal wired syncing?
     
  2. DaGrandMastah thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2011
  3. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #3
    My two questions are:

    - Will wireless syncing still work even though only my iDevice is wireless? My Mac Mini is hard wired to my Gig-E network.
    - How do you know it is syncing and will anything get corrupted if you disconnect the iDevice from a power source during a sync?
     
  4. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #4
    How do you turn it on. When I select General:iTunes Wi-Fi Sync Sync Now is grayed out (also tried with plugged into a wall wart) on both my iPhone and iPad. Both are connected and I can use Remote to control iTunes.
     
  5. Hammie macrumors 65816

    Hammie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Wash, DC Metro
    #5
    Did you select 'Sync this device over Wi-Fi' when it was plugged into iTunes via a USB cable?

    I had to re-sync after the upgrade and select it. It was not on be default.
     
  6. Julien macrumors G3

    Julien

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta
    #6
    Don't think so. I will reconnect them when I get home and try. That is probably the problem. I just thought it was device selectable and not a iTunes setup issue. Thx.
     
  7. machasm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    #7
    I have the same problem. My PC is hardwired into the wifi router and the phone is connected wirelessly.
    Can't seem to get it to sync using wifi though and yes I have enabled the option in iTunes.
     
  8. Trek7300, Oct 14, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011

    Trek7300 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    #8
    My wireless sync experience

    My configuration:

    Windows 7, 64 bit running on Lenovo T400 laptop, connected at home over wireless, 5.4GB n wireless network (dual band router)
    iTunes vers. 10.5

    iPhone4, 32GB, GSM - AT&T, upgraded to ios5 (connects to 2.4GB n band)

    iPad I, 64GB, Wi-Fi only, upgraded to ios5 (connect to 5.4GB n band)

    iPhone4
    1. Connected iphone to PC over USB and did successful sync the old way.
    2. Checked the box to allow Wi-Fi sync then hit apply.
    3. Unplugged USB cable from Laptop and plugged into wall charger.
    4. Locked iPhone screen.
    5. iPhone still appears in the iTunes window just as if it were still connected by USB.
    6. Clicked on the iPhone4 icon.
    7. Hit the "Sync" button
    8. Sync worked correctly. Even though nothing had really changed in my library, it had a lot of messages scrolling saying it was updating album artwork, but not the songs themselves.

    iPad
    followed same procedure, except that it fails. It sits there for a while as if it is syncing, but then eventually says something to the effect "Sync failed to start in time"

    Robert
     
  9. Trek7300 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    #9
    My wireless sync experience, Part II

    I am at work now. My Laptop is connected to the company LAN over wired ethernet. My phone is connected over company wireless. I plugged my iphone into charger and locked the screen. I started iTunes. My phone DOES NOT show up now like it did last night at home.

    So maybe both devices have to be on the same wireless network? My company's network settings my also not be allowing the necessary ports open between the wired and the wireless subnets.

    When I get home tonight, I'll have to connect my laptop to my wired ethernet and make sure the wireless radio in the laptop is turned off and see if the devices can "see" each other.

    Robert
     
  10. ohsnap macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    #10
    All devices have to be on the same LAN.
     
  11. mms13 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    #11
    Obviously the computer and phone have to be on the same network....how would it work otherwise?

    It works great for me, but it is much slower than through the cable.
     
  12. Trek7300 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    #12
    Yes, I understand that they have to be on the same network, in a manner of speaking. For example, at home, whether I'm connected on ethernet or on wireless, all devices will have an IP address starting with 192.168.1.x (the "x" will be different for each device). So, every device should be able to "see" any other device.


    At work, I have not checked to see what IP address gets assigned when you are on wireless vs. ethernet, but I can check that.
     
  13. Alonzo84 macrumors 6502a

    Alonzo84

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #13
    Correct me if I'm wrong but iTunes syncing hasn't changed in that you can only be synced with one library at a time. If you enabled WiFi syn on your home computer then you would have to disable it before you can sync wirelessly with another one. Again, I may be wrong on that one since I don't fully understand iTunes in the Cloud. Also, iTunes must be open on the computer that contains the library you are syncing to and the phone and computer must be connected to the same WiFi network. You do not need to be attached to a power source, or lock the phone. It will sync in the background with a spinning icon in the status bar and you can still use all features of your phone during the process.
     
  14. teme macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    #14
    Wifi sync seems to be quite buggy, so I wouldn't spend too much time trying to find out why it isn't working... just wait for an update.
     
  15. Trek7300 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Nashville Area
    #15
    In my case - it is the same computer - company supplied Lenovo laptop. I use it at work and at home.

    Robert

    ----------

    That is what I'm going to do. It worked OK the old way. At least the wireless backup to icloud does seem to be working, it just does not backup your music, videos, or podcasts.

    Robert
     
  16. Ashwood11, Oct 14, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2011

    Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #16
    I'm unable to sync by WiFi. Have followed all suggestions. I know my iPad is communicating with the computer because I can toggle from iCloud to WiFi on one device and it will change on the other. Under the iPad settings it recognizes the computer but says it is not available and the Sync Now button stays grayed out.

    I can sync to iCloud and the computer by cable so I just have to wait until I find a solution.
     
  17. BruiserB macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    #17
    I was having problems at first, but did a couple of wired syncs even though I had the sync over wi-fi selected. The first one took a really long time and the second went pretty quickly as usual. Then I disconnected and the wi-fi sync started to work.
     
  18. Bluemeanie1976 macrumors 6502a

    Bluemeanie1976

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Location:
    Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
    #18
    My 'sync now' button is greyed out, and it says 'sync will resume when [computer name] is available', but they are both on the same network, and I can see the computer through air sharing/airvideo, etc.

    Anyone seen this?
     
  19. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #19
    Yes, I'm getting the same message. I have spent the last two days patiently trying every "try this" but with no success.

    ----------

    I tried this also but only once. I'll try again doing it twice like you did.
     
  20. Alonzo84 macrumors 6502a

    Alonzo84

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #20
    May be a silly question, but do you have iTunes open and signed in to the same AppleID that you're using on the device?
     
  21. born4sky macrumors 6502a

    born4sky

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #21
    Wi-Fi sync working great for me...
    Wi-Fi will be slower.
     
  22. Ashwood11 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Location:
    US
    #22
    I do.
     

Share This Page