Wireless vs Wired when close to the router

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by ventuss, Apr 4, 2014.

  1. ventuss macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #1
    I got the new Airport Time Capsule. It is in my room, close to the 2013 iMac, Playstation 4 and Apple TV. Close enough to use ethernet cables. All of the listed devices have Wireless-N (iMac is AC).

    Is there performance loss for using Wireless in a situation where your devices sits in the same desk as the Airport? I don't want to use cables if not necessary.
     
  2. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  3. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    I go wired as it provides the best network performance. Perhaps as the Wifi technology improves it will be less of an issue but I don't think we're there yet and you get better throughput on the gigabit ethernet.
     
  4. SandboxGeneral Moderator

    SandboxGeneral

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Location:
    Orbiting a G-type Main Sequence Star
    #4
    I always go with wired when I can achieve it. The only wireless things in my home are the iPhone, iPad, MBP and Nintendo Wii.

    I could wire the MBP, but I move it around a lot so I choose to go with WiFi on that.
     
  5. Alrescha, Apr 4, 2014
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2014

    Alrescha macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #5
    Yes. Your 801.11n runs at a maximum of about 300 Mbps. Your Ethernet can go as fast as 1,000 Mbps (in two directions, at the same time). The standard rule of thumb is you use Ethernet cable for fixed devices, and Wi-Fi for mobile devices. In other words, if you can wire it, wire it.

    A.
     
  6. ventuss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #6
    I updated my cat5 cables to cat6, and my numbers are extremely low now. Do you happen to know if Airport have any problems dealing with cat6 ethernet cables?
     
  7. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #7
    What numbers are low? How are you benchmarking this?

    Cat-5e or 6 is fine. Might be your ISP's modem or its configuration.
     
  8. ventuss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #8
    There is a internet connection test on Playstation when chaning connection settings. It is just a reference I guess.
     
  9. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #9
    How's your home network setup?
    e.g.
    PS3 wired to LAN on TC, WAN wired directly to cable modem.
     
  10. ventuss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #10
    Modem to WAN, PS4, PS3 and Apple TV to LAN.

    iMac sits in the end of the room, so it is connected to AC (700mb/s when Option click the wireless icon on OS X).
     
  11. ventuss thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    #11
    Do you know why my iPad Air keeps connecting to the Wireless G while on automatic settings? Even though if I create a 5GHz wifi it gets on it just fine?
     
  12. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #12
    Where do you have a G WiFi network? The TC is 2.4GHz N and 5GHz AC

    Is your cable modem a modem or a WiFi router?

    You can split the WiFi networks, the 5GHz has a shorter range though.
     

Share This Page