Wish I had gone with 160GB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by techlover828, Aug 1, 2007.

  1. techlover828 macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #1
    I recently got a macbook pro, and I went with the 120GB hard drive, mostly because I wanted it quicker. I am now realizing that I should have gone with the 160GB hard drive. I have about 80GB of storage left write now, with everything I want on it except for Final Cut Studio, which is a wopping 50GB. That'll leave me with 30GB. Not a lot for all of my videos that I will be creating and all the docs I will be writing (not much I know). Anybody have any ideas on how to clear up some disk space?

    Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. Aea macrumors 6502a

    Aea

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #2
    Don't install the parts of FCP which you don't need and skip the tutorials? Or you can simply get a large external firewire / eSATA drive and not worry about running out or space (just don't use it as a scratch disk).
     
  3. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #3
    Get rid of the printer drivers and languages. I did that and freed up a few gigs of space.

    BTW, I have a 160 GB drive, but I have got it down to 3.28 GB of free space. I am getting an external as soon as possible. I found a nice 500GB triple interface drive for just over $200. I think it'll be a worthy purchase. That way I can move some of this music off here and free up some space.
     
  4. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #4
    I have an external hard drive but I want to be able to take final cut on the road.
     
  5. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #5
    Where might I find those things? (new to mac)
     
  6. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #6
    Put stuff on the external that you won't need to take with you. I doubt I'll ever need my music with me, and if I do, I have it all on my iPod anyway.
     
  7. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #7
    I guess thats true, thanks
     
  8. klymr macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Location:
    Utah
    #8
    I had to do a clean reinstall of OS-X to get rid of them. I am also new to mac and I LOVE it!
     
  9. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #9
    Ya, its nice. Does anyone know how to get rid of languages without reinstall?
     
  10. techlover828 thread starter macrumors 68020

    techlover828

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
  11. xxlordgold macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Location:
    Richmond. VA
    #12
    One thing about Monolingual though, it completely screws up Rosetta. I used it to remove some languages, and, regretfully, some architectures, and I can't use MS Office 04.
     
  12. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #13
    Yeah, I second that. It freed up over 3GB of space.
     
  13. bobpensik macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    #14
  14. timnosenzo macrumors 6502a

    timnosenzo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Location:
    ct, us
    #15
    Hmm, I can't say I had the same issue personally.
     
  15. clickclickw00t macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #16
    After cleaning up imovie and garageband language packs and print drivers, i saved about 10GB or so ( i might be off by a GB or two)
     
  16. 8thMan macrumors regular

    8thMan

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    #17
    Portable hard drives are a great compromise. They're pricey in comparison to desktop drives but their small size and ability draw power from the firewire port makes them an easy way to double your storage in the field.
     
  17. Gromet macrumors regular

    Gromet

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    #18
    I too pruchased a new Macbook Pro 2.2 with 120Gig HD a few wwks ago... I filles that 120 up quick, i'm down to about 15gig free and have really ben doing everything I can to make sure it has at least a little space on it...

    I am about to order a 250Gig and replace it myself. I don't want to go external I need the portable space.
     
  18. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #19
    For someone, like me, who uses FCP on site, I've invested in a few external drives. Anyone who uses FCP knows that you can't rely on the internal HDD, plus, you would need a minimum of 250 GB and 7200RPM as a norm.

    I always bring 3 250GB/7200RPM drives with me when on location and I use one for scratch. And due to the MBP's relatively light weight, I don't feel bogged down with electronics -- plus my new Chrome messenger bag is very roomy ;)

    And, finally, once I'm ready to buy a series of MP's, all post-production will be done in the office by better editors than me :(
     
  19. PURCELL429 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #20
    The same thing happened to me....any idea how the hell to fix this?
     
  20. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #21
    I own an Iomega 160GB portable hard drive. It is powered off USB - so you don't need to carry a power adapter with you.

    It is also extremely small (2.5 inch drive) and very very light. Costs about $150.

    Worth it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  21. NoOneButMe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    #22
    Reinstall - if used Monolingual/XSlimmer to delete arch settings from the binary, then they're gone :p - Reinstalling it should fix it right up.
     
  22. PURCELL429 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2007
    #23
    Sorry to go off topic....

    So I have to reinstall all of OSX? or can I just reinstall the files I need?
     

Share This Page