Wishing I had gotten a larger SSD in the beginnig

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Lil Chillbil, Mar 23, 2013.

  1. Lil Chillbil macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #1
    So In my mac pro I have a SSD and 3 3tb western digital Hard drives for Tons of on board storage. The SSD is only 160gigs and filled up so fast with my apps that I now am purchasing a 512gig ssd which I really should have installed from the Start, Oh well just another day migrating files and installing Snow leopard :D


    But while I'm ranting anybody find any good deals on 512 gig ssds lately that you would like to share?
     
  2. PowerPCMacMan macrumors 6502a

    PowerPCMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Location:
    PowerPC land
    #2
    Let me know if you come across a 1TB for under 500.00 - I sure would love to replace these aging 7200 SATA drives.

     
  3. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #3
    Hard to beat the price of the Crucial M4 at $400 for 512GB.
     
  4. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #4
    Interesting, as I have a Mac Pro 3,1 w/12GB RAM using only an 80GB SSD. I have tons of apps and still have about 8GB free. All my user data is on another SSD or on multiple HDDs.

    Are you sure you're not using the SSD for any user data? Also, as I understand it, the boot drive has space allocated for RAM backup used during sleep. So if you have a ton of RAM that's another use that you can influence.
     
  5. Lil Chillbil thread starter macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #5
    8gb is not good, that more than 90% full. Also this ssd must hold a handfull of apps and tons of games. And when I am working on a big project I like to have it all on a ssd while I am editing. It only moves onto the 9tb of disk space when its in archive mode so I have a huge project coming up and I know it will max out this 160gig ssd so I am looking for something that I won't even have to think about filling up with apps and my current projects
     
  6. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #6
    There's the new 960GB M500 for less than $600.
     
  7. Crazy Badger macrumors 65816

    Crazy Badger

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Scotland
    #7
    +1 for the Crucial M4 - have a 512GB one in my iMac and no problems at all
     
  8. Tesselator, Mar 23, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013
  9. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #9
    You could save a lot of time by cloning the smaller SSD to the larger one, rather than reinstalling everything.
     
  10. cube, Mar 23, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2013

    cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #10
    Hardly, the 2.5" are 5400RPM.

    I've had the two Momentus XT generations and I liked them, but not this.

    I'll wait for the 2.5" 1TB WD hybrid, which is 7200RPM, assuming it does not require SRT.
     
  11. Lil Chillbil thread starter macrumors 65816

    Lil Chillbil

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #11
    Thanks for the idea I'll be sure to save me some time on that ;)
     
  12. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #12
    Is this shipping yet? Where?
     
  13. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #13
    In Germany it appeared on sale for less than 520 EUR, including 19% VAT.
     
  14. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #14
    Yeah, I started out with a 32GB SSD. I was using a SSD I bought some 5 years ago (back in 2008 this was like $600).

    Anyways after getting rid of that, I moved to 480GB. Recently just switched to a new SSD after finding out about the a Velocity X2 adapter.
     
  15. SDAVE macrumors 68040

    SDAVE

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Location:
    Nowhere
    #15
    Even less on eBay, check it out. For a new one, that is.

    I prefer Samsung 830/840 Pro though.

    ----------

    You can save some space by removing the sleep image, etc.
     
  16. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #16
    Nope.
     
  17. TheEasterBunny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Location:
    Delaware
    #17
    I have an M4, I would rather have the samsungs too
     
  18. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #18
    Hardly hardly! SSDs are 2.5" and zero RPM. Wow, they must be really terrible! :p
     
  19. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #19
    No Thanks.

    ALL data in a hybrid should be written to the platters, and it should be possible to access the mechanical part as a normal drive if there is a problem with the SSD part.

    Also, NO software should be involved in hybridisation, and it should continue to work even if the system crashes.

    ----------

    SSDs don't need to access platters.
     
  20. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #20
    That seems to be an arbitrary opinion which make no sense at all.


    Really? Say it isn't so... :p
     
  21. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #21
    It is not arbitrary and it makes sense. You just have to think beyond the RDF.
     
  22. Tesselator macrumors 601

    Tesselator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Location:
    Japan
    #22
    I might make sense to someone who doesn't know anything about hybrid drives. Otherwise, no, sorry... it's out there past Saturn somewhere...

    RDF factors aren't even fractionally relevant here.
     
  23. cube macrumors G5

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    #23
    Well, I have happily used both generations of Momentus XT and it makes sense to me.
     
  24. E3BK macrumors 68020

    E3BK

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #24
    Just upgraded the 2007 MBP to the Crucial M4 and I'll totally be able to squeeze a little more life out of that baby. I've been using it as a makeshift "desktop" at the offices I freelance at. It's so fast compared to what it was, almost as fast as my MBA!
     
  25. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #25
    Short little blips are great on those hybrids if you need to only open your favorite apps fast. You need way beyond 8GB to actually act like a real SSD. The performance drop off of say a 20-40GB file transfer will be evident. Smoke and mirrors. Great for cheapskate that can't cobble their own together. I'd rather fusion drive a 128GB+ to a larger drive. You still will get the drop off but much later.
     

Share This Page