OS Neutral Witcher 2 Ultra Settings & Ubersampling

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by bobwocky, Apr 10, 2013.

  1. bobwocky macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    #1
    I have a maxed out 2012 27" imac. I can play the Witcher 2 at the Ultra Setting but it crashes when entering a cutscene. Also, ubersampling is disabled and cannot be enabled and the text is red instead of black. Mind you I'm playing the steam version. Anyone else run into either of these issues? Thanks!
     
  2. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #2
    Ubersampling on a 680Mx at 1440p will give less than 10 FPS.
    The Witcher 2 is pretty much the heaviest game ever.
    Have you tried reducing settings?
     
  3. Towelie1288 macrumors regular

    Towelie1288

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
  4. MRU macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Other
    #4
    Ubersampling would give the new TITAN GPU a run for it's money.

    Basically it's well ahead of it's time and if you actually read the 'read-me' they advise 99.99999999% of peeps not to use it.

    Even with a massive SLI rig, it would be a challenge. It's a setting for 'future' gpu benchmarks much like how Crysis was at the time.
     
  5. bobwocky thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    #5
    Makes sense, but I'm still confused by why the witcher 2 will crash on ultra (no ubersampling), when I enter cutscenes. NMaybe it can't handle depth of field for cutscenes (a setting) and that's why it crashes? I'll fiddle around with it more and get back to you guys if I figure something out. Thanks for the replies!
     
  6. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #6
    Yeah I had a SLI 670 GTX windows PC last summer that could not run those settings smooth enough IMO.

    Ubersampling in particular is a nasty feature.

    The game looks awesome at Med or High.
     
  7. Sambo110 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    Australia
    #7
    Yeah, I think I get around 40-60FPS with ubersampling on my 7970 crossfire rig... not enough for me (120hz screen). The iMac would just die with it on :p
     

Share This Page