Witcher 2 won't load in Bootcamp, but will in Parallels!!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by imacken, May 17, 2011.

  1. imacken macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #1
    Title says it all.
    I installed TW2 on my Bootcamp partition. All went well, activated OK, I ran the Launcher, clicked on Play and then nothing! It goes away does a bit of thinking then just goes back to the Launcher screen.
    Bizarrely, it will run OK from within Parallels.
    I'm pulling my hair out here!
    Any ideas?
     
  2. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #2
    more info on your system please. Is it the one in your sig? What's the GPU? Driver version you're running and windows version, 32/64bit? Have you messed with the configurator to turn some settings on/off to make sure you're okay? Resolution/full screen etc.
     
  3. imacken thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #3
    Yes, it's the one in the sig. 5 day old iMac 3.4GHz i7 27" with Radeon 1Gb 6970M running Windows 7 64-bit on Bootcamp.
    Don't see how it can be my specs because it runs in Parallels - albeit at a snail's pace!
     
  4. imacken thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #4
    OK, progress. It'll run if I switch off 'Full Screen enabled'. Then it fills the screen except for the Taskbar showing at the bottom.
    BTW, I'm running on 8.812 driver
     
  5. aznguyen316, May 17, 2011
    Last edited: May 17, 2011

    aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #5
    is 8.812 the 11.2 catalyst version that came with your bootcamp disc? Wondering if it's the same one from the MBP 2011 AMD drivers. B/c that's been working for me fine. Mine also works in full screen without an issue, although the game is 16:9 only.

    looks like on the steam forums some users are having issues launching into full screen. So yeah... until then just play in windowed mode til that gets fixed.
     
  6. imacken thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #6
    Hmm. All I know is that Windows reports 8.812 as the driver version with a date in April. I did try to download 11.2 Catalyst from the AMD site, but it wouldn't let me, saying something like 'you don't have an proper video card installed'!
    Don't really know where to go from here.
     
  7. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #7
    more reading seems to point that very high resolution players are experiencing this problem. with the 27" iMac I can see where this fits the bill. turn off full screen or change to a lower res.
     
  8. imacken thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #8
    Thanks a lot for your help. As I said above, it works fine when full screen is disabled, but changing to a lower res makes no difference at all.
    I also find it weird that it works full screen within Parallels. Why should that be?
     
  9. aznguyen316 macrumors 68020

    aznguyen316

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    #9
    not sure, are you having parallels run at the full screen and full resolution of your iMac as well or is it just windowed at a smaller resolution? It must be some sort of full screen launching issue that I'm sure will be patched up. The max full screen resolution I've been able to try is 1680x1050 but that's pretty standard and haven't had problems with that or at 1280x720 full. Games nowadays nearly always require a patch or two within the first week. Enjoy the game though, and no problem!
     
  10. imacken thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #10
    It's running in full screen at 2560x1440 in Parallels.
    Have you heard of others who have the same issue?
     
  11. imacken thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    #12
    Thanks a lot. I'm glad that it's not just me then!
     

Share This Page