Witcher 3

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fthree, May 19, 2015.

  1. Fthree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    #1
    Thinking about picking it up on my mac. Kinda interested on seeing how it'll perform on my early 2015 3.1/16r/i7 13' rMbp.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. v1ta, May 19, 2015
    Last edited: May 19, 2015

    v1ta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #2
    I have as 2014 MBPr w/dGPU and it is barely playable on the lowest settings, avg fps < 15. This is despite it being able to run GTAV w/semi respectable settings (1980x1200) w/mix of medium and high @ 30 fps consistently. Unfortunately all of the optimization for the game was done seemingly for the consoles. I boot-camp into W8.1 not 7, but I highly doubt W7 would make much of a difference.
     
  3. Fthree thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    #3
    Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't it available for straight Mac download?
     
  4. v1ta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
  5. RoboWarriorSr, May 19, 2015
    Last edited: May 19, 2015
  6. v1ta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #6
    Make sure to disable the nvidia steaming service too if ya ever bootcamp into Win to game. Its the only way I was able to up the graphics to make them > Ps4/XO visuals with a super consistent frame rate.
     
  7. bundesmax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #7
    Hi, I was able to run Witcher 3 on Macbook pro however fps is about 20-25 with low settings and low resolution. I'll try to disable this nvidia service.
    Did you do something else? How many fps do you have ? :eek:
     
  8. v1ta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #8
    I can't break 15 with everything floor in open world / combat (where Fps matters ). Are you OCing your card?
     
  9. bundesmax macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #9
    In this case i don't understand your words: "Its the only way I was able to up the graphics to make them > Ps4/XO visuals with a super consistent frame rate"
    No, i did not overclock it. Just install and run with fraps. Low resolution and disable all graphic settings.
    After work, i am going to try this:
    _http://forums.cdprojektred.com/threads/36088-A-compendium-of-tweaks-and-fixes-for-the-PC-version
     
  10. v1ta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #10
    Was referring to GTAV, it means I never dip below 30 regardless of what I'm doing in the game. For W3 I can't make the settings lower unless it involves editing ini files.
     
  11. v1ta macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    #11
    Double checked my settings and it looks like updating my driver prompted the GeForce experience to put the resolution back to native. Guess I wasn't able to tell given how washed out everything looks when its all on low. I was able to maintain > 20 fps even during combat / open-world travel. I slightly bumped the resolution to match one more congruent with the mac's aspect ratio (1280×800) along w/textures and only losing maybe 3-4 fps on average. It is playable in this state; wish it had a tad bit more optimization though. GTAV w/proper tweaking can run very nicely on these machines and I'd argue looks better @ the highest setting.
     
  12. piercehan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #12
    sorry can someone explain how to get this to run in the first place? i installed win 7 ultimate via bootcamp and it crashed upon startup every time. its running through GOG if thats any help

    i have the 15" mid 2014 mbp
     
  13. vbedia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    #13

    That's the resolution I play it at. 1280x720 when plugged to an external display. You can download the latest driver from Nvidia released today, apparently they fix bugs and improve performance for Kepler based cards. I don't recommend using Geforce experience with the game though; it detects the game under minimum requirements, when running on the rMBP 15'' with 750M. So most post processing effects are switched off, when in reality there are things that may well be switched on since the performance impact is hardly noticeable. For example I have Water Quality in ultra, the lost of fps is barely noticeable between ultra and low in this case.

    The game is definitely playable on any rMBP with a 750m, not the smoothest thing i've ever seen but playable. High 20's and low 30's most of time when installed the latest patches and with Nvidia latest driver.
     
  14. vbedia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    #14

    Do you have the one with a dGPU or the one with Iris Pro?. I am running the game through GOG too, no problems at all. Mine has a dGPU.
     
  15. piercehan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #15
    i have the iris pro ... is that why it wont run?
     
  16. piercehan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #16
    i have:
    intel i7-4850hq @ 2.30ghz
    16 gm ram
    intel iris pro graphics 5200
     
  17. vbedia macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    #17
    Intel Iris pro 5200 may not be supported. However, I have seen videos on YouTube running the game on Intel Iris 6100. Yours should have the edge over the 6100, apparently they modified the setting file. I don't know what they changed, but the game looks even worse than on consoles.

     
  18. SamuelShand macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    #18
    has anyone here for some real results for Witcher 3 on the new 2015 rmbp with the AMD card?
     

Share This Page