With 3G iphone, what happens when you leave 3G coverage area?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by erandall38, Apr 8, 2008.

  1. erandall38 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #1
    Regarding an iPhone with 3G capability:
    Looking at At&t's coverage map, it looks as if 3G is not widely available. What happens when you leave a 3G service area? Does edge kick in? Do 3G phones have edge or are you straight out of luck?
     
  2. atluten macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    #2
    Most likely EDGE will be substituted as the next fastest connection.
     
  3. Chic0 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    In Europe, when out of 3G coverage, it will automatically connect to the next fastest medium, which is normally GPRS.

    So yeah, for you guys in states, it will automatically connect to EDGE.
     
  4. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #4
    Your phone gets bricked and you can never use it again.



    Geebus Christ, folks. Is this question not asked (and answered) daily?
     
  5. tonywob, Apr 9, 2008
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011
  6. erandall38 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #6
    Sorry I know how that is. I have no been on here for a while and so have not seen any of those threads.
    If you have ever tried MR search you know how horrible it is.
     
  7. 7on macrumors 601

    7on

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Location:
    Dress Rosa
    #7
    Try this
     
  8. Michael CM1 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #8
    I also caught your post about 20 minutes after work. :) I wish they would post a next-gen iPhone FAQ since that's what most of the posts on here seem to be (either that or "this-and-that sucks about iPhone!").

    I also wish they'd have a master "When do you think the 3G iPhone will be released?" thread.
     
  9. chrisparr macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    #9
    That's what the forum search is for.
     
  10. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #10
    Now, THAT is cool!

    Hidden Google features FTW! :D
     
  11. erandall38 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #11
    Did you not read my whole post?????

    Here try again:
    I did use forum search, but it brought up nothing!
     
  12. kdarling macrumors demi-god

    kdarling

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Location:
    First university coding class = 46 years ago
    #12
    Yes, being able to search within a single site (or domain) is extremely handy.

    I used it just the other day when looking for a condo to rent for vacation. It was taking me forever to drill down and look at each page to see if they had a bathtub for my daughter.

    So I used Google advanced search within just that site, and boom up came the dozen condo pages out of a hundred that had a tub. Woo hoo for technology!
     
  13. Pattycerts macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #13
    Why search at all? There are dozens of 3G phones already, not hard to figure out or ask a friend :rolleyes:

    What would you expect to happen, anyway?
     
  14. erandall38 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    #14
    I have smart friends, they all have iPhones!

    Thats what I was trying to do, figure it out by asking.

    Before the iPhone I never use the internet on a phone so I know nothing when it comes to networks for mobile internet or anything.
     

Share This Page