With discreet graphics or without??

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by burak.82, May 29, 2014.

1. burak.82 macrumors newbie

Hello Everyone,

I been a PC user since i started to use computers. Because of its sleek design, configuration and portability, i decided to go for a macbook pro. I can call myself a content creator, i use Photoshop and Indesign everyday at work plus i am a photographer in my free times where i do alot of intensive photo retouchings. I dont play games, no time. Later i would like to learn 3D modelling and so on.

Will the base 15" version be enough for these purposes? Or i should stay with the discreet graphics model?

And one more question, i am from EU however a friend of mine will visit NYC so i asked him to buy me one from an Apple store, now if the price is 2600$ on apple.com/store, in the actual store will it be the same price or tax will be added?

And can he get a tax free invoice while purchasing? how much will it be deducted from last the price?

thanks in advance

burak

2. T'hain Esh Kelch macrumors 601

T'hain Esh Kelch

3. yjchua95 macrumors 604

If you primarily use CS6 or CC software, quite a number of them are OpenCL-optimized. OpenCL-optimized software perform faster on the Iris Pro than on the 750M.

If you're going to work with a lot of layers, I suggest a 16GB RAM upgrade. For the sake of simplicity and convenience of not having to carry an external drive around, I also suggest a 512GB SSD upgrade.

If you intend to do some gaming as well or use CUDA-accelerated software, the 750M variant is the way to go.

I'd suggest a 2.3GHz, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD and 2GB 750M model for your needs. However, if you think you're fine without the extra power from the dGPU, then the base model should do you fine.