with no user pass, can't access terminal

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by scottroberts, Nov 21, 2012.

  1. scottroberts macrumors newbie

    scottroberts

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    #1
    I initially setup my user account with no pass, but when I try to use terminal it requires a pass. In the user accounts I tried to make a pass, but there doesnt seem to be that ability, I can change a pass but that doesnt work without an old pass. How do I overcome this little problem? The best thing would be to simply add a pass to my account, but how do I do this?

    thx
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    If you have no password set, I believe you can just hit the enter key in Terminal or other areas where a password is requested.
     
  3. scottroberts thread starter macrumors newbie

    scottroberts

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    #3
    not so, when I simply hit return, I get a password error in terminal, other areas that is true.
     
  4. MadTester macrumors regular

    MadTester

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    #4
    You will have to go in as root.. enable the root user first (if it's not enabled) and then set yourself a password........ once you've done that then enter terminal and use login root enter your password


    HTH :)
     
  5. meme1255 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    #5
    You should be able to make an pass in user pane - try logout a login after doing so.
     
  6. Mal macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #6
    You need a password when working with the Terminal. Just set one up, make sure you quit and relaunch Terminal, and use that. You can disable if you want when you're done.

    jW
     

Share This Page