Won't Update

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by cjm3113, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. cjm3113 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #1
    My cousin has an 8GB ipod touch with 1.1.2 firmware. When we connect it to iTunes it will tells me that it is in recovery mode and needs to be restored. When I go to restore it says I need to update (which I would love to do). But when I try to restore and upgrade it says that I do not have permission. ANy clues?
     
  2. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #2
    I have a similar problem. I have 1.1.5, and I can't update because I don't have permission. It's really frustrating.
     
  3. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #3
    I think because you may have to pay for the update.
     
  4. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #4
    I did. It's on my online bank statement and everything.
     
  5. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #5
    I just checked another forum and apparently a lot of people are having the same problem. Apple must be experiencing server issues or something.
     
  6. ezongker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #6
    Same issue... frustrating

    I just got mine as a gift and I bought the update too! but its giving me the same error and I'm getting fed-up with trying to find a fix for it. anyone have any suggestions? thank you!!
     
  7. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #7
    Then maybe this is a server problem Apple is having.
    It may be because a lot of people just got new iPods and are trying to update/restore them.
     
  8. cjm3113 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    #8
    Glad to know it wasn't just me screwing something up for her.
     
  9. ezongker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    #9
    wow

    Sounds like it... unfortunately! My family thought it was just us because we were have wireless issues. After reading this and realizing it was the same exact issue we felt slightly better. If anyone hears anything let us know please!! thanks!!
     
  10. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #10
    I'm surprised many people got first generation iPod touches for Christmas.

    Everything will be ok.
    Just give it time.
    Let the server cool down for a few days.
     
  11. dopey220 macrumors 6502

    dopey220

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    #11
    I'm bummed. For me, 90% of the iPod touch's appeal is its ability to run 3rd party apps. Which I can't do until I upgrade my firmware. Hopefully it's up and running soon.

    :(
     
  12. iParis macrumors 68040

    iParis

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Location:
    New Mexico
    #12
    If for some reason this problem isn't fixed soon you don't have to do it on your computer.
    You can easily update the firmware on someone else's computer.
     
  13. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #13
    Yea, I'm having a problem with restoring my iPod 1st generation. It already has the 2.2 firmware on it but I need to restore. I at first thought it was because I put a fresh install of Leopard on my MacBook; and I backed up my iTunes library by drag/drop my iTunes folder (4.xGB) to my external and replacing the folder on the new install. I'm glad to hear that it's not my end. Hopefully Apple's servers don't crash and burn due to the influx of new users.
     
  14. samsam480 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    #14
    My problem is a bundle of other problems that ressemble to yours

    My problem is that my ipod touch crashed completely and before it crashed I put a password on it. Now that i want to sync. it doesn't work because iTunes tells me I have to enter my password (i'd love to) but i can't because it needs to sync!
    So i put it in restore mode, but when i want to restore it doesn't work because it says "SOFTWARE FOR THIS IPOD IS NOT CURRENTLY AVAILABLE. MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THE LATEST VERSION OF ITUNES AND TRY AGAIN.
    But I have the latest version of iTunes.

    What should i do?

    By the way i know the password so I don't need no hacks

    Please help

    ty
     

Share This Page