Word 2011/El Capitan Issue

johnyaddy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2015
7
0
New Orleans
I'm using Word 2011 on my MacBook Air. I upgraded OS X to El Capitan a few days ago. I now receive an error message about memory while using Word. Also, the apostrophe/quotation mark key isn't working. I get an accented "e" or "a" when I try to use the key. Anyone else having the issue? Any solutions? Frustrating, because I gave up on PCs due to Microsoft's crappy Windows OS. Now I'm still fighting the idiots. I'd gladly give up on Word entirely, but it's too difficult to get away from it because of the programs at school.
 

DeltaMac

macrumors G4
Jul 30, 2003
10,454
2,781
Delaware
What version of Word are you using?
Open Word, then go to the Word menu, then About Word.
What version is reported in that info window?
Current version is 14.5.7
If you see an older version, go to the Help menu, then Check for Updates.
Install any updates that show there.
 

johnyaddy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2015
7
0
New Orleans
It's 14.5.7. Oddly enough, the apostrophe key issue seems to have corrected itself without restarting or installing an update. I changed the font size in one of the documents to 14 and the key started functioning correctly. Still getting that memory error.
 

flowrider

macrumors 603
Nov 23, 2012
6,213
2,368
Actually it's not a memory error, but a storage error. What size SSD do you have? The 2011 MBA came with 64, 128, or 256 GB of flash storage. Your SSD may be full.

Lou
 

johnyaddy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2015
7
0
New Orleans
Actually it's not a memory error, but a storage error. What size SSD do you have? The 2011 MBA came with 64, 128, or 256 GB of flash storage. Your SSD may be full.

Lou
Not sure which SSD. Sorry for the newbie issues. How do I check this? Still experiencing the problem, even after yet another MSOffice 2011 update today.
 

flowrider

macrumors 603
Nov 23, 2012
6,213
2,368
^^^^There's a number of ways to check storage size. Go to Disk Utility, open it and click on your disc. It will give you the statistics of your SSD, including Size. Another way is to go to the Apple in the far upper left of the top menu bar. click on the Apple, then click on "About This Mac", next click on the bottom left of the box that will pop up. Next scroll down to either "SATA/SATA Express" or "Storage" and click on this disk that you find in there. It will also give Disc statistics, including the size of your SSD.

Lou
 

johnyaddy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2015
7
0
New Orleans
^^^^There's a number of ways to check storage size. Go to Disk Utility, open it and click on your disc. It will give you the statistics of your SSD, including Size. Another way is to go to the Apple in the far upper left of the top menu bar. click on the Apple, then click on "About This Mac", next click on the bottom left of the box that will pop up. Next scroll down to either "SATA/SATA Express" or "Storage" and click on this disk that you find in there. It will also give Disc statistics, including the size of your SSD.

Lou
Thanks. It's showing 128.
 

flowrider

macrumors 603
Nov 23, 2012
6,213
2,368
^^^^OK, Great, next question, Can you tell how much free space is available? It should be displayed in the same place where you found out the size of your SSD.

Lou
 

Gochugogi

macrumors regular
Oct 27, 2013
223
26
Sandwich Isles
I bet the El Capitan upgrade filled up what little remaining space you had you your 128GB SSD. I'm still running Word 2008 and it works okay under OS 10.11.
 

johnyaddy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2015
7
0
New Orleans
^^^^OK, Great, next question, Can you tell how much free space is available? It should be displayed in the same place where you found out the size of your SSD.

Lou
Under "Storage" it says I have 69.94 GB available. Free Space under the Logical Volume Group heading says 12.5 MB free space.
 

flowrider

macrumors 603
Nov 23, 2012
6,213
2,368
^^^^You have plenty of free space to run MS Office. You have an Apple SSD, so I would assume TRIM is enabled and your SSD is not fragmented. Run Disk First Aid (in Disk Utility) and see what result that produces.

Lou
 

johnyaddy

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2015
7
0
New Orleans
^^^^You have plenty of free space to run MS Office. You have an Apple SSD, so I would assume TRIM is enabled and your SSD is not fragmented. Run Disk First Aid (in Disk Utility) and see what result that produces.

Lou
Ran First Aid. Still having trouble...
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.