Word 2011/El Capitan Issue

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by johnyaddy, Nov 1, 2015.

  1. johnyaddy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #1
    I'm using Word 2011 on my MacBook Air. I upgraded OS X to El Capitan a few days ago. I now receive an error message about memory while using Word. Also, the apostrophe/quotation mark key isn't working. I get an accented "e" or "a" when I try to use the key. Anyone else having the issue? Any solutions? Frustrating, because I gave up on PCs due to Microsoft's crappy Windows OS. Now I'm still fighting the idiots. I'd gladly give up on Word entirely, but it's too difficult to get away from it because of the programs at school.
     
  2. johnyaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #2
    Screen Shot 2015-11-01 at 7.17.46 PM.png
    This is the message I get when I try to open files.
     
  3. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #3
    What version of Word are you using?
    Open Word, then go to the Word menu, then About Word.
    What version is reported in that info window?
    Current version is 14.5.7
    If you see an older version, go to the Help menu, then Check for Updates.
    Install any updates that show there.
     
  4. johnyaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #4
    It's 14.5.7. Oddly enough, the apostrophe key issue seems to have corrected itself without restarting or installing an update. I changed the font size in one of the documents to 14 and the key started functioning correctly. Still getting that memory error.
     
  5. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #5
    Actually it's not a memory error, but a storage error. What size SSD do you have? The 2011 MBA came with 64, 128, or 256 GB of flash storage. Your SSD may be full.

    Lou
     
  6. johnyaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #6
    Not sure which SSD. Sorry for the newbie issues. How do I check this? Still experiencing the problem, even after yet another MSOffice 2011 update today.
     
  7. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #7
    ^^^^There's a number of ways to check storage size. Go to Disk Utility, open it and click on your disc. It will give you the statistics of your SSD, including Size. Another way is to go to the Apple in the far upper left of the top menu bar. click on the Apple, then click on "About This Mac", next click on the bottom left of the box that will pop up. Next scroll down to either "SATA/SATA Express" or "Storage" and click on this disk that you find in there. It will also give Disc statistics, including the size of your SSD.

    Lou
     
  8. johnyaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #8
    Thanks. It's showing 128.
     
  9. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #9
    ^^^^OK, Great, next question, Can you tell how much free space is available? It should be displayed in the same place where you found out the size of your SSD.

    Lou
     
  10. Gochugogi macrumors regular

    Gochugogi

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Location:
    Sandwich Isles
    #10
    I bet the El Capitan upgrade filled up what little remaining space you had you your 128GB SSD. I'm still running Word 2008 and it works okay under OS 10.11.
     
  11. johnyaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #11
    Under "Storage" it says I have 69.94 GB available. Free Space under the Logical Volume Group heading says 12.5 MB free space.
     
  12. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #12
    ^^^^You have plenty of free space to run MS Office. You have an Apple SSD, so I would assume TRIM is enabled and your SSD is not fragmented. Run Disk First Aid (in Disk Utility) and see what result that produces.

    Lou
     
  13. johnyaddy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #13
    Ran First Aid. Still having trouble...
     

Share This Page