Word excel power point for mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Streetboy75, May 24, 2016.

1. Streetboy75 macrumors newbie

hi I am new to Mac and used to Microsoft office for word excel and power point, can someone tell me the what ones to load in the App Store as there are so many different ones. Thanks

2. MikeeW macrumors newbie

MikeeW

I use the apps Pages, Numbers and Keynote, which are the equivalent of the Microsoft office products.

I did buy from Microsoft a home edition of office for my child to use in college. Unfortunately, one license, one machine. With the Mac products all of my devices have Apple software.

3. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

HobeSoundDarryl

Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    Equivalent??? One might read your post and think equivalent means equal or "about the same as." While Keynote might be the closest in terms of being (subjectively) equivalent to Power Point, Pages and Numbers are far from about the same as Word and Excel.

If by equivalent you mean that they are Apple's crack at a Word Processor, Spreadsheet and Presentation software bundle, OK. But this guy- OP- claims he's new to Mac. We shouldn't be so quick to lead the newbies down the all-Apple path with stuff like this. Obviously, Office is very important to OP. iWork is not Office*.

*note: I use iWork software about every day, so that's not a bash. I simply understand that Office-dependent people probably need Office, not Office Jr Jr, which might be able to export files that open somewhat the same when a collaborator wants to work with Office.

4. MikeeW macrumors newbie

MikeeW

I responded to the query with a reasonable suggestion. Please note I did point out that Microsoft office can be purchased for his Mac. I do believe equivalent is exactly as you suggest.

Perhaps instead of criticizing my choice of words, you can offer a suggestion how the op can get what asked for. I did.

5. HobeSoundDarryl, May 24, 2016