Word is not British!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Wicker, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. Wicker macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    #1
    Hi everyone,

    I have a small issue with Word 2008 that is bugging me.

    I've set my system language to be British English, however, Word will not recognise this (even afters specifying 'English (UK)' in the dictionary). If I select some text and manually change the language to 'English (UK)' then it'll do it, but this is annoying.

    Does anybody know how I can fix this? Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #2
    It sounds like your default language is wrong. If you go to Tools / Language and select English (UK), then press Default it should write the defaults to normal.dotm as English (UK).
    If that doesn't help, are you using another template for your documents that has an alternative default language?
    It works OK on my machine, so it doesn't seem like an inherent problem in Word 2008.
     
  3. Wicker thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Location:
    Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
    #3
    I thought I had tried that before, but obviously not as it has worked this time! Thanks!
     

Share This Page