Word on Macbook

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Udinpetot, Feb 17, 2008.

  1. Udinpetot macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #1
    guys...
    just wondering..
    while i was doing my thesis...
    i had itunes, mozilla, adium and word running
    at 1st the computer is okay..
    but inside word, when scrolling up and down, the CPU usage gwent to 98%!!!!!!!
    the word is 1.2mb big, and it has some graphs in it..
    is it normal?
    i mean....., word?, uses 90%+ of the cpu?
    does upgrading ram helps?, or perhaps hard disk with 7200 rpm?
    need advise :)
     
  2. kflook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Gettysburg, PA
    #2
    That sounds like a high percentage, mine has never gone up that high. How much RAM do you have?
     
  3. McGiord, Feb 17, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #3
    Upgrading the RAM may help if you have the MB with the Intel video that uses a portion of the RAM for the graphics.
    ________
    vaporite solo
     
  4. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #4
    Like the other poster, I'd like to know how much RAM you have. If it's the stock 1GB, I think that's your problem.

    I'm assuming you're using Word 04 (you didn't mention it) because it runs under Rosetta and needs more RAM than usual. If so, more RAM will definitely help smooth things over a bit.
     
  5. Udinpetot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #5
    my ram is standard 1 gig....
    hmph.., i see.., getting 4 gb ASAP, hehehehe
    and also when i played warcraft in windows, it takes bloody long ot alt tab?
    it made me died thousands time already lol
    well i guess this is rams problem as well, but thx guys :)

    sooo.., btw r u guys saying that if youre running out of ram.., ur cpu usage goes high? (im a computer noob) :p
     
  6. goose1873 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Location:
    Erie, PA
    #6
    could just be a "glitch". close and try again. Typically that should not be very hard on the cpu. Also increasing ram is the easiest/cheapest way to up performance.
     
  7. kflook macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Location:
    Gettysburg, PA
    #7
    More RAM never hurts, though I don't think it necessarily makes your cpu usage higher. I have 2 GB of RAM and everything runs pretty smoothly.
     
  8. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #8
    You don't need to go for a full 4GB if you don't need it (or can't afford it). 2GB would solve your problems as well.

    Also, remember that unless you have a Santa Rosa macbook, you'll only be able to use 3.3GB of RAM, so a 4GB would be a bit much.
     
  9. Udinpetot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
  10. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #10
    I've had Safari, iTunes, MS Word, and Adium running at the same time and have had no issues. I also only have 1GB. Though, my Word is 2008.
     
  11. Udinpetot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #11
    i was using word 2004..
    could that be the reason why?
    and i had so many graphs.., oh well
    lets see after my new ram comes along :)
     
  12. Udinpetot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #12
    soooooooooooooooo
    i finally got my transcend 4gb RAM
    however when i use windows, it only recognize as 3gb?
    but anyway
    i was playing warcraft..., and YEAH my cpu usage
    again, bloody high :S, is it normal
    well i use the highest setting, and im jut wondering why my memory wont kick in coz when i alt tab.., there like 2/3 secs of complete stunned screen
    hmph...., any ideas?

    oh yeah, on WORD 2004 (mac).., still i had the same problem, a bit faster, but not fast enuf for me..
    especially when scrolling through pages..
    and when i look at cpu usage, it was like 98 %?
    and the highest % was from CMFA or somethin like that, and occasionally some application kicks in as well (forgot the name)
    any ideas?
     
  13. Udinpetot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #13
    heres the pic, the later slope was when i finished playing Warcraft., DOTA to be specific, any1 tried this before?
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Udinpetot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #14
    guys, heres another pic with microsoft word 2004..
    hmph
    the process is ALOT FASTER THAN MAC...
    i dont know whats happening?
    how can mac be so slow, and windows is alot faster?
    i used the same file, and i also use endnote.., but the cpu usage never goes above 30% in windows, whereas in mac is like 98%?
    need help, dun wanna switch back to windows while doing my thesis :S
     

    Attached Files:

  15. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
  16. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #16
    ;)

    OP, does your CPU still go through the roof if it's just Word+non game stuff?

    I think it's normal if WOW spikes CPU, but Word definitely shouldn't.
     
  17. Udinpetot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #17
    yep, thats the point..
    warcraft i can undestand..
    microsoft word.., is fast in xp...
    but in mac.., it hits the roof :S
    and it also took longer time to start the program..
    hmph...
    im not changing to 2008 coz im still in the middle of writing my theiss, and i dont wanna screw al the formatting and stuff.., and also try to learn how to use it..
    coz its quite different (not much of a reason considering im learning to use mac for the 1st time lol, mac rocks)
    so yeah.., any1 currently using word 2004 on mac and expiriencing this?
    ir its probbaly my endnote?

    clueless
     
  18. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #18
    Sorry, but I wasn't sure...

    if you were still utilizing 2004 because you stated "I was using word 2004... and oh yeah, on WORD 2004 (mac).., still i had the same problem, a bit faster, but not fast enuf for me.." and I'm utilizing 2008 so I'm not experiencing anything like your experience. I've also worked with three different files at 2-3 mb and they were transferred over from 2004, just recently. I'm not suggesting that you make the move, but just passing on my experiences. :cool:
     
  19. Burnsey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #19

    Word 2004 is slower and more resource intensive on the mac because it uses what's called "rosetta emulation" to run. Word 2004 was not designed for intel macs, it was designed for older powerPC macs. however because apple transferred to intel, and microsoft was too lazy to come up with a native version of word to run on the intels, they came up with a way to emulate word on the intel processors, and doing so requires a lot of ram and CPU.

    word 2008 runs natively on intel macs, and is much faster and smoother. file types/formatting shouldn't be a problem, as you can save your work as either the new .docX or the older .doc depending on what you want. However it will not run endnote, yet. Speaking of endnote, it is incredibly slow and resource intensive (for the same reasons as word 2004). Most of your problems are likely due to it.

    word on windows is fast because it's made by microsoft for microsoft, instead of on the mac, where you have "by microsoft to sabotage and deter users from its rival apple".
     
  20. McGiord, Feb 18, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2011

    McGiord macrumors 601

    McGiord

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Location:
    Dark Castle
    #20
    Maybe you can minimize the processor usage by working with different files, for example one file for each chapter, and at the end when you are ready to index and print you combine them, therefore you have only one smaller file open at the time.
    This approach has worked for me when the document was so big with a lot of graphics and images.
    ________
    Mazda Carol specifications
     
  21. Udinpetot thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #21
    TOTALLY MAKE SENSE :)
    thanks.., at least i know my macbook isnt doing something funny
    well i guell ill just use windows for doing my thesis.. which gona finish in couple of months, hehehe
     
  22. CalBoy macrumors 604

    CalBoy

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    #22
    Actually, that doesn't fully answer why your macbook is soaking up CPU like crazy.

    Rosetta is RAM hungry (and it certainly wouldn't use 4GB) but only needs some CPU strength. I use Office 04 all the time (Word in particular).

    I think what's happening in your case is the size of your file coupled with the numerous charts and graphs. Because they all need to be "Rosetta'ed," the entire machine slows down.

    I believe someone above mentioned splitting up your file. I suggest doing this as well. I think you'll find it'll improve much more, and you'll be able to save yourself some grief. :)
     
  23. nhtp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #23
    I have the exact same problem. I just started writing, so my word document is just 17 pages, but still, office 2004 takes 100% cpu and my fan goes crazy. I have a suspicion that it's because I'm also running endnote 'cite while you write', but I'm not too sure.

    Endnote is also the reason why I can't change to office 2008, since it doesn't work with that just yet. If ever.

    3 months old MacBook with 2 GB RAM
     
  24. MerrieLu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #24
    Word 2008

    Hi, I wasn't sure if this was talking about Word 2004 or 2008... or World of Warcraft... so I started a new one for Word 2008. I have the same problem. My documents aren't longer than 16 pages and it doesn't matter if I have one or 5 open at once; the CPU is still at 80-100%. See this thread:

    "Word 2008 running at 89% CPU? Is that normal???"

    Pleeeease let me know if you get any solutions!
     
  25. MerrieLu macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    #25
    Aha!

    I think I found a solution! I have been writing in German (are you writing in another language?) I turned my Grammar Check off and voila! CPU right down to normal. Hope that helps!
     

Share This Page