Wordpress and Mac: Please tell me it can work!!!

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by alonamartinez, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. alonamartinez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #1
    I am a novice at this but have been trying to set up my blog on Wordpress and have had a tough time, beginning with the basics: NO TOOL BAR APPEARS WHEN TYPING. Also, cannot UPLOAD new themes. This stuff is all painted as easy peasy Japanesey but I feel like I need a PhD in computer code to get a simple blog up! Is it me? Am I doing something wrong? If so, any help on how to correct it would be greatly appreciated. I'm not trying to reinvent the wheel, just GET MY BLOG UP and boy has it caused frustration!
    (I have Safari)
     
  2. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    Do you have Safari 3.0.4? Works fine for me. You could also try firefox. I much prefer it for blogging.
     
  3. Markleshark macrumors 603

    Markleshark

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    Carlisle, Up Norf!
    #3
    I've been using Wordpress with my Mac for a longgggggg time now, through many different OS X, Safari and Wordpress versions, without any problems.
     
  4. alonamartinez thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #4
    same safari

    yep, I have Safari 3.0.4. The guy at Godaddy suggested I go through Firefox so I went ahead and downloaded it and still NOTHING changed. Am I to guess it is a prob with my laptop then?
     
  5. tersono macrumors 68000

    tersono

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Yes, Wordpress works just fine with Safari (or whatever other Mac browser). If you're having problems, I'd suspect the Wordpress installation rather than any problem with your Mac.
     
  6. 7031 macrumors 6502

    7031

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #6
    I'm pretty sure it doesn't. I did that, and the WYSIWYG editor doesn't work in it.
     
  7. alonamartinez thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #7
    Okay guys, everyone has a different story...

    Okay, so here is the update ... I called GODADDY (only had to wait 8 minutes this time!) and the guy there tells me the reason I am not seeing a toolbar is bc I have the freebie hosting from GoDaddy and that carries their advertisement banner (something I was not aware I'd get and wasn't crazy about, AND ISN'T WORDPRESS FREE ANYWAY???) Apparently having this banner of advertisement blocks out the toolbar option ("javascript not compatible"??? don't ask me , I am just repeating what I heard since I know zippo about this stuff. I didn't even go into why I can't upgrade themes.
    Of course, he went on to inform me that if I upgrade and take the banner off, then I'd have the toolbar.
    I am rather irked I wasn't told this earlier and don't know if it is even true because then WHY DID THE FIRST GUY AT GODADDY THAT SUGGESTED I GET WORDPRESS get totally stumped when this happened? I just don't know who to believe at this point but I am leaning towards hosting it elsewhere: any suggestions anyone and thanks for listening to the vent this far along!
    very frustrated...:eek:
     
  8. ChicoWeb macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #8
    Don't expect much with free hosting. I'm surprised you even got tech support.
     
  9. hob macrumors 68020

    hob

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #9
    They're clever little people down at GoDaddy. I'm hooked in now, after kinda doing exactly what you did. I installed WP all by myself, but was having trouble with RSS. Later I found out it was because of the free hosting.

    Now I pay about £2 a month to them. It's not so bad. You'll learn to love them eventually :p
     

Share This Page