Wordpress questions

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by cool11, Nov 12, 2017.

  1. cool11 macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #1
    I am gonna give a try to setup and work in wordpress, for building a web site.
    It is my first time with a cms, as 'till now I only used dreamweaver.
    I hope my try to go well, but surely I will need some kind of help, so please if someone can help and share knowledge, to do it here, to help me proceed with my experimentation.

    My first question is about migrating a site locally built, to a hosting provider.
    How easy is this? I guess it is not just about copying files, but I need some guidance about how to setup database there on the server, and possibly changes about some paths.
    How these can be done?
     
  2. olup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #2
    Depending on the hosting provider, they at times have a 1-click installation of CMS, whether that's wordpress or another CMS.

    If they don't, then you need to copy the files from your local wordpress installation into the root directory(/) of your website. Once that's done, go to your website (website.com/wp-admin), the wp-admin will take you through the setup of wordpress.
     
  3. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #3
    Does the installation procedure/file of wp creates the mysql database needed, to function?
    Or someone has to manually create a database with a third party application, and then use it for wordpress?

    I hoped that with wordpress I would not be forced to seek for other tools outside its environment, but I am not sure if this is true.
    In the second screen of the initial installation, I used the names I would like to have, for database etc, hoping that wp will create it for me. But it refused to proceed giving an error for establishing connection.
    When I put a database from other project, it seem to work. But I stopped there, as I do not want to put wp database needs in other projects.
    But I do really expected that wp would create everything related to database by itself.

    So, what applies about this topic?
     
  4. olup macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #4
    It depends, my host doesn't provide 1-click installation, so I have to go into my host's settings and create the database myself.
    Did you enter your database credentials into the wp-config.php file? You need to rename the wp-config-sample.php to wp-config.php in order for it to work and have the appropriate credentials of your database in there. Take a look at this article below.
    http://www.wpbeginner.com/wp-tutori...ablishing-a-database-connection-in-wordpress/
     
  5. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #5
    Is there any setting or plugin, to help me display only titles of posts, instead of displaying the first paragraph or so from the main article?
    I want to display only titles, and I can't understand why I can't find such setting.
     
  6. Aaronjacobson Suspended

    Aaronjacobson

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Location:
    North Sydney
    #6
    Generally it depends on hosting, if you dozens install it in 1-click then you manually set the host settings for new databases
     
  7. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #7
    What about fonts? What I see in my wordpress-constructed site, will it be the same on the devices that will access my site?
     
  8. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #8
    Is there any way to define/fix the dimensions of the images I put in featured images of posts?
    I would like to have something like auto resize, but with downgrading the resolution & dpi, not just the 'external' dimensions.
    This way, I could achieve standard dimensions and reduced file size/load times, automatically.
     
  9. abbones macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2017
    Location:
    Derby
    #9
    If you look under Media in admin there are three sizes defined for uploaded images. When you upload an image if it is lareger than these three sizes it creates these three smaller versions plus it keeps the original. When you then use an image in a post you can choose which size is appropriate
     
  10. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #10
    When we say that a theme is 'responsive', does this also affects of how it reacts on several screen resolutions of desktop/laptop computers?
    Besides the general discrimination of desktop/tablet/mobile views.
     
  11. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #11
    Can somebody tell me, in which table the 'posts' are stored?
     
  12. D.T. macrumors G3

    D.T.

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Location:
    Vilano Beach, FL
    #12
    Have you looked at the DB schema or searched for a [WP] data dictionary? It's all documented and it's pretty conspicuous :)
     
  13. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #13
    I am rather new in wordpress world, so I found out about export/import options, in tools, inside wordpress controlpanel.
    As I can see, someone can choose to export posts(or any additional item too).

    Has anyone previous experience on how good this import/export posts in xml file - feature of wordpress, actually works?
     
  14. lynchdavidh macrumors member

    lynchdavidh

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Location:
    New York
    #14
    Any reputable hosting provider will have one-click CMS installation and help you migrate your website as soon as you sign up for a plan. Hosting providers like SiteGround and WP Engine have support teams to handle this type of stuff.
     
  15. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #15
    I have made some changes to the font colors in my wp site, that I would like to pass them to be there forever-whatever it takes, in the styles.css of the child theme (current-active).
    How can I know, what lines should be added to child's theme styles.css?
    I know the codes of the colors as wp show them in 'color' menus, but I do not know how to do it.
     
  16. cool11 thread starter macrumors 65816

    cool11

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    #16
    Wordpress 5.
    How can I get rid of this ridiculous limitation of the new visual text editor (gutenberg), that displays the text that I write in just a narrow column? I have a full width screen, just to see a column like in old fashioned newspapers? Unacceptable! How I can take advantage of the full width of my window, in text editor?
     
  17. team360 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 11, 2019
    Location:
    India
    #17
    Wordpress is the best CMS and also easy to use.
     

Share This Page

16 November 12, 2017