Wordpress

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by Nicolasdec, Apr 28, 2007.

  1. Nicolasdec macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #1
    I have a Godaddy Linux Hosting Account and i want to install many wordpress blogs. but i can only 25 MYSQL databases. is there any way that I can use many wordpress blogs in 1 database?
     
  2. jng macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    I think the wordpress forums is a better place to ask this. But anyway, I'm sure you can but giving each wordpress setup a different table prefix. You can also run multiple "blogs" off one install btw. go seach the wordpress forums.
     
  3. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #3
    ok, but i want them to be on different domains.
     
  4. rogersmj macrumors 68020

    rogersmj

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    #4
    Hosting multiple domains on one account is a feature of your hosting provider, it has nothing to do with Wordpress.

    As jng said, you can easily host dozens or hundreds of Wordpress blogs using one database, as long as they are each configured to use a unique table prefix.
     
  5. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #5
    I know i can host mutiple domains on my hosting accounts i just whant to know if i can host mutiple wordpress blogs in one MYSQL database. :) :) :)
     
  6. tominated macrumors 68000

    tominated

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    #6
    you can if you change the prefix from wp_ to something like wp1_ in the config file (the one with all of the my sql settings)
     
  7. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #7
    could you explain in more detail how i could do this.
     
  8. Aranince macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #8
    When you install wordpress there should be a field where you can type in a prefix, but I'm not sure.
     
  9. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #9
    ok thanks i will try it out.
     
  10. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
  11. jng macrumors 65816

    jng

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    Should work fine. Are the multiple domains multihosted? If so, they're probably just sub folders so it should be pretty straightforward.

    If they're not, you just need to makesure you configure the db connection properly and one thing that might be easily overlooked is host, which might be better set as something solid/concrete, instead of "localhost."

    solid/concrete sounds weird but i'm having a brainfart and can't think of "fest" in english....
     
  12. Nicolasdec thread starter macrumors 65816

    Nicolasdec

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Location:
    São Paulo
    #12
    ok, thanks
     

Share This Page