Workflow question (iMovie and FCP)

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by gruebl0r, Sep 26, 2012.

1. gruebl0r macrumors newbie

Hi,

since I'm a newbie to digital video editing I have a couple of questions on how to optimize my workflow.

I'm giving presentations on "The Physics in Hollywood" which include plenty of videos, where I need to cut scenes from. I do this in keynote, thus I need videos which are in the proper format.

So far I used DVDs are sources, however I want to move to higher resolution videos, i.e. use BluRays as sources.

So far my workflow is the following:

1) Use MakeMKV to get the mkv container on the disk.
    2) Use Handbrake to get it into a editable format.
    3) Import it into iMovie/FCP Trial and edit.
    4) Export the cut scenes and include them into Keynote.

My questions are:

1) Is this a reasonable workflow? Can I improve it?
    2) When I import with iMovie it takes a couple of hours with all processors running at maximum. FCP doesn't even get under full load when running background jobs. Is this normal or something I need to change in my settings?
    3) I'm not too familiar with FCP yet, however I like the plenty of options in the timeline with overlaying different audio and videos. It seems like a reasonable upgrade, is the jump from iMovie a reasonable one?

Thanks a lot, Sascha

2. daybreak macrumors 6502a

Reading your thread iMovie is the application you are working with at present.
    Try out Final Cut Pro-X instead of FCP7 which Apple now have put on the back burner.
    iMovie and FCP-X have the same interface pattern and you can work while your material is rendering in the background.
    Please note this is only my opinion. I always say go and try any software out before hand. As we all look at software differently.
    Good Luck

3. macuser1232 macrumors 6502a

macuser1232

I second that.

4. Menneisyys2 macrumors 603