Working in a commercial environment

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by robdashnash, Apr 23, 2014.

1. robdashnash macrumors newbie

I have been working in a commercial environment for 2 years now and I am keen to find out how others inherit existing projects and keep their reputation protected.

I find that touching a project for about a day makes me responsible for the whole project's code base, and thus get the blame for bugs that someone else wrote.

Further, if I take on a new task and the Application breaks because of code written elsewhere, it also looks bad on me. Making excuses like "it wasn't code that I wrote", doesn't wash with management.

Does anyone have any advice or a system, such as "Give me that in written format and I will get on with it" ?

Rob
    iOS Developer

2. Tomorrow macrumors 604

Tomorrow

I don't develop software, but I am an engineer and a project manager.

If I inherit a project, it becomes mine. I become responsible for it. If there's a mistake, it doesn't really matter whether I'm the one that made it; it's my responsibility now. That means I take the necessary steps to correct it, I smooth things over with the client, etc.

I don't know if this is normal in the world of software but it doesn't seem unreasonable to me; just the way the world works.

3. Zombie Acorn macrumors 65816

Zombie Acorn

Pretty normal if your management is clueless about what you are doing. I try not to take any side projects at work anymore, I just work on my own personal stuff at home.

I once did a personal project and proposed it at work, it got shot down by management, just for them to propose the same thing themselves 2 years later. :rolleyes:

4. Southern Dad macrumors 65816

Southern Dad