Working Jailbreak for iPad 3.2.1

Discussion in 'iPad Hacks' started by MacManiac76, Aug 1, 2010.

  1. MacManiac76 macrumors 65816

    MacManiac76

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Location:
    White Mntns, Arizona
    #1
    I had a little trouble at first just going to http://www.jailbreakme.com but I think I got it all working on my iPad now. Was getting an invalid file error when using the slider at the bottom of the main page, but saw the address to the file as it quickly flashed in the address bar. If you point Safari to http://www.jailbreakme.com/_/iPad1,1_3.2.1.pdf instead it should directly download the file and get your jailbreak underway.

    You can also just point Safari to http://www.jailbreakme.com/_/ and it will list all of the files for each compatible device. Just click on the appropriate file for your device in the list and your download and jailbreak will be underway.

    After I successfully completed the jailbreak I did have to reboot my iPad to get the Cydia app icon to show in my apps. Good luck.
     
  2. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Looks like it's a PDF hole. This will get plugged up pretty fast.
     
  3. T4R06 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Location:
    CT
    #3
    it still kick me out... my iphone 4 was jailbroken instantly though...
     
  4. lvyelion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    Location:
    NL
    #4
    ooooops, I click the 3.2 file instead of the 3.2.1 while I have a 3.2.1 iPad, wait to see what happens:eek:
     
  5. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #5
    My ipad just restarts if I select the pdf file directly..
     
  6. AlecEdworthy macrumors 6502

    AlecEdworthy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    #6
    Are you using an iPad wifi+3G? It seems there is an issue which means they do not work with JailBreakMe at the moment. Some reports suggest just keep trying but I think it may be a bigger issue than that :(

    Alec
     
  7. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #7


    yep I just noticed ppl with wifi only ipads seem to be unaffected
    I read on twitter that comex had uploaded a newer version of the exploit for ipad 3.2.1 for those of us with 3g ipads but i don't see any improvements. He's now sleeping so let's give him some time :)
     
  8. AlecEdworthy macrumors 6502

    AlecEdworthy

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    Leicestershire, UK
    #8
    If you're referring to this tweet:

    I uploaded a version that might fix iPad 3.2.1, but it won't be synced for another 20 minutes or so. I'm going to bed so not waiting to see

    Then I don't think this is specifically related to the 3G model unfortunately :(

    Alec
     
  9. efegue macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    #9
    Yup, it was supposed to fix all iPad's on 3.2.1. Hope he can fix the problem with 3G iPad's soon :)
     
  10. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #10
    Funny thing is.. I downgraded to 3.2 on my 3G ipad and the exploit doesn't work either.. I cannot get jailbreakme.com to work on this ipad either.

    I have now upgraded back to 3.2.1 and will wait for some news from comex.
    Lol, and let's donate so he can get a 3G ipad to test on :)
     
  11. biggy52 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Location:
    Tanzania (East Africa)
    #11
    Jailbroke my iPad 3G 16GB 3.2.1

    Hello,

    Ive been hawking these forums since last night, when i had a problem and couldnt jailbreak my ipad 3g on 3.2.1 using the jailbreakme.com site.

    Ive been trying various methods all day. Finally this is what i did and it worked for me, i hope it helps you all too.

    1. Switch off the ipad
    2. Remove your simcard. And keep it removed.
    3. Switch on your ipad
    4. Go to Settings > General > Reset Network Settings
    4. Go to Settings > Safari and Clear Cookies and Cache
    5. in Settings > Safari > Accept cookies to ALWAYS
    6. in Settings > Safari > Block Popups (Disable it : Off)
    7. Go to Settings > Wifi > in your network name, click the blue arrow and set DNS to 8.8.8.8
    8. DONT GO TO THE JAILBREAKME SITE. Go to http://jailbreakme.com/_/ and click on the iPad 1,1 3.2.1.pdf and amazingly it started jailbreaking.

    I know these steps are redundant to many others, i tried all of them in different ways all day, but doing it in this proper sequence worked.

    I know people got the blank page on the pdf file, i did too all day, but this time it worked.

    Cheerz

    P.S i cross posted on 3 other threads on iPad hacks section , so those having problems like me, wouldnt miss on the solution. Sorry
     
  12. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #12
    It most certainly did NOT work for me. :(

     
  13. dodgy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    #13
    I wish people with a 3G iPad would just stop and wait for an official fix. There seems to be many home-made fixes thrown around but very little success - certainly not universal success.

    They will fix the issue quickly, and then things will be easy. If you can live without your JB for a short while the safest thing to do is upgrade to 3.2.1 and save your SHSH blobs. If you don't then Apple could release 3.2.2, stop signing 3.2.1 and you may never be able to upgrade and JB (at least not until a new vulnerability is found).
     
  14. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #14
    how can I save the SHSH without Cydia?
    thanks :)
     
  15. NJBlackBerry macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    #15
    Download and run TinyUmbrella...
     
  16. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #16


    Thanks! Just done that.
    The only thing is that if I select Cydia it doesn't work.
    Then I chose Apple and I got the SHSH blobs just fine. If "Apple" is selected are these blobs automatically transferred to cydia?
     
  17. hodgey87 Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #17
    Anyone else getting the 'oops can't find host' error?
     
  18. tempusfugit macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Chicago
    #18
    thanks for the info this is what I've been wondering.

    Guess all us iPad 3G users can do at the moment is BACK UP SHSH BLOBS!!!

    They'll get it working some time soon but if apple isn't signing 3.2.1 anymore you're in trouble!

    I would recommend using tinyumbrella immediately to all ipad owners who haven't backed up their 3.2.1 shsh blobs.
     
  19. needuhelp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #19
    i keep getting this also "oops can't find host' error"
     
  20. hodgey87 Guest

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    #20
    Seems to be working again now, ive just jailbroken my iPad :D
     
  21. biggy52 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Location:
    Tanzania (East Africa)
    #21
    Comex has updated the jailbreakme.com page.

    It worked in the first go on my ipad 3g 16gb.

    No more reboot loops. Finally Jailbroken thanks to Comex!
     

Share This Page