Working With Online Searches

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Blakeasd, Mar 21, 2011.

1. Blakeasd macrumors 6502a

Hello Everyone,
    I would like to be able to take a cocoa text box and place it in my application so that when the user clicks search the text box goes to an online text box, searches and finds the data to display in a Cocoa control. For example how can I take a text box so that when a user types something in it searches youtube and displays it in some sort of object. I have never done any type of web work before, so I don't know where to start.
    Thanks

2. lee1210 macrumors 68040

lee1210

3. Blakeasd thread starter macrumors 6502a

4. lee1210 macrumors 68040

lee1210

5. PatrickCocoa macrumors 6502a

Let's All Smile

Cocoa has smiley faces now? I guess they're aiming at a younger crowd.

6. lee1210 macrumors 68040

lee1210

If i'm talking about functions in english and not writing a block of code i never use code tags. Maybe noparse tags would work to prevent smilies but keep the text in-line instead of putting it in a box? I don't know. Let's see: I want to talk about initWithContentsOfURL:options:error:. Yep, noparse seems to do it. Maybe I'll be able to remember that in the future. It seems like maybe autosmilying could be turned off on the programming subforums? We're always getting method signatures smilitized because of the : separator.

Also, I'm not totally crazy, the OP originally asked about documents to look at, i didn't just throw that out there unsolicited. They must have edited their second post. Oh well.

-Lee

7. Blakeasd thread starter macrumors 6502a