Working with someone who has FCP7...

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by nateo200, Oct 24, 2011.

1. nateo200, Oct 24, 2011
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011

nateo200 macrumors 68030

nateo200

I'm working with someone who has FCP7 and I have FCPX...I know you can't share projects between the two versions of Final Cut Pro but I don't think that will be an issue. Basically I put the short video together with everything but the special effects like gunshots, some minor chroma stuff, color correcting, etc. and I need to get it to my other guy who uses a 2010 MacBook with 3GB's of RAM...I exported the file as Apple ProRes 422 LT @ 2048x1080p 23.98fps and I'm curious if he will run into trouble with this..He doesn't have to transcode or render with ProRes right? If not what should I do? I have Compressor FYI (though I am a noob with it). Ultimately it is going to be then sent back to me with all the effects and I will export the master as H.264 2048x1080p then probably crop a bit for widescreen use on Vimeo...Help? Thanks in advance...

EDIT: Would Apple ProRes 422 proxy be decent? All of this was shot on Canon 550D's...

2. Oberhammer macrumors regular

He doesn't have to transcode or render with ProRes right?

Correct

Send it to him in ProRes light and he can open it fine.

----------

Would Apple ProRes 422 proxy be decent?

No

Send it in ProRes Lt format and it will be fine

3. handsome pete macrumors 68000

Why are you working at 2048x1080?

Exporting to ProRes LT should be fine.

When doing VFX/compositing work, I like to use clips with a couple of seconds padded in front/back (handles) in case I need it for adjustment down the road. Obviously this isn't possible if you're just giving him 1 output.

4. nateo200 thread starter macrumors 68030

nateo200

OK thanks. Just curious what is wrong with with 422 proxy? I understand the other ProRes codec "levels" but I don't get the ProRes proxy....