Workout apps not showing distance/speed while biking.

Discussion in 'Apple Watch Apps' started by DrewDaHilp1, Apr 26, 2015.

  1. DrewDaHilp1 macrumors 6502a

    DrewDaHilp1

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    All Your Memes Are Belong to US
    #1
    As the title says. Anyone else having this issue? Am I over looking something?
     
  2. akm3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #2
    Workout app calculates speed and distance from your step/stride length doesn't it? Gps just calibrates it?
     
  3. DrewDaHilp1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DrewDaHilp1

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    All Your Memes Are Belong to US
    #3
    I believe so. I had my phone with me as well running strava during the ride.
    I went several miles and my distance shows 0 and my workout time shows that it was only 26 minutes when it was actually 40 minutes.
     
  4. Jim4D macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    #4
    It worked for me, with all sorts running.

    Preloaded strava on my phone and loaded up co-rider for navigation

    Set workout for outdoor cycle open distance and started strava on the watch via glances and left this as my watch screen during ride.

    Watch and Strava calculated same distance travelled, calorie discrepancy between the 2 apps was about 200 calories over 40 miles so not bad, workout used the watch HRM strava used its own algorithm without sensors.
     
  5. ZeRoLiMiT macrumors 6502a

    ZeRoLiMiT

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Southern California
    #5
    so this works with GPS? the Nike+ app doesn't record were you ran! I like looking at my map just like the iPhone app! this really sucks if you can't do that!
     
  6. tearsforfear macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    #6
    Same issue with mine too!
     
  7. paulshort18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    #7
    Same issue here too. Currently on the phone to Apple Support
     
  8. spampy22 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
  9. DrewDaHilp1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DrewDaHilp1

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    All Your Memes Are Belong to US
    #9
    Let us know what they say please.
     
  10. paulshort18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    #10
    After 5 minutes on hold whilst the Apple rep spoke to an "expert" the best they came up with was to unpair, then pair my watch again with my iPhone . I didn't do this but did try using the Workout app again on my bike, and this time it worked :)
     
  11. DrewDaHilp1 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    DrewDaHilp1

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    All Your Memes Are Belong to US
    #11
    Okay so I found the fix for this after calling Apple yesterday. You have to have motion calibration and distance on your iPhone . It's under settings-privacy-system services-toggle the motion calibration and distance switch.
     
  12. soch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    portland
  13. pakyooh macrumors 6502

    pakyooh

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #13
    So you have to run both Strava and Workout app every time? Strava doesn't just port your ride info to the activity app? I know Strava cannot monitor your heart rate unless you use something with it but will it record at least the distance and speed?

     
  14. dgdosen macrumors 65816

    dgdosen

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
    #14
    I've had this issue with my watch as well - and I also had the Settings/Privacy/Location Services/System Services/"Motion Calibration & Distance" set to off :(

    I just changed it, but I don't think I'll be back on my bike for a few days. I'll post an update when I do.

    This makes sense to be the cause. It also makes me see how running would overstate my distance by about 10%, even when I was running with the phone.

    I wonder if this will have an effect on phone battery life.
     

Share This Page