World of Warcraft Hi Res Screen?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by j.burris, Apr 29, 2010.

  1. j.burris macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #1
    I am going to get a MBP i5 2.53ghz with 7200rpm 500gb hd. And a Hi Res AG screen.
    Is this bad for playing wow?

    Anything will be a step up from using an ibook g4.
     
  2. Ctt713 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    #2
    That should be more than fine for playing WoW. You will be able to run high to ultra settings with decent fps(30-60). To be honest the 13inch should run it fine but I am sure you want the bigger screen and higher res.
     
  3. j.burris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
  4. ozreth macrumors 65816

    ozreth

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #4
    Consider this, WoW was released in early 2004, wich means it probably went into production aroud 2001. At this point WoW can easily be played on many computers that are 9-10 years old. I've seen the game played smoothly on some garbage machines.
     
  5. mobilehaathi macrumors G3

    mobilehaathi

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Location:
    The Anthropocene
    #5
    I get playable (30-45 fps) frame rates with "Ultra" settings at native resolution on the MBP in my sig.
     
  6. j.burris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #6
    1. Would the i7 be better than the i5?

    2. Or would the i7 run hotter than the i5?

    3. Does the extra 256mb vram make a big difference?
     
  7. therealseebs macrumors 65816

    therealseebs

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    #7
    You have forgotten that WoW has had two major updates which have changed the graphics significantly.

    I have an i7 with the 512MB 330M GPU, and it gets 20-30fps under reasonable load, maybe a bit less under high load. I believe the extra 256MB does make some difference. (And yes, the i7 runs a bit warmer, but I can play for 5 hours straight and not have it break about 82 degrees, which is fine.)
     
  8. j.burris thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    #8
    core i5 or i7 Any other input?

    Any other input on the core i5 or i7?
    2.53ghz i5
    or
    2.66ghz i7


    Won't the 2.53ghz i5 be a big enough step up from my ibook g4 1.42ghz and 32mb vram?
     
  9. atari1356 macrumors 68000

    atari1356

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    #9
    For WoW, you'll be fine with the i5 and 256MB VRAM unless you connect it to an external monitor at 2560x1600 resolution.

    From a test on Barefeats.com:

    [​IMG]

    http://www.barefeats.com/mbpp22.html
     
  10. iBunny macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #10
    Yes. But not worth the added $ for playing World of Warcraft.

    Yes. Only slightly due to more cache and more MHz speed. However both are rated to draw 35w TDP.

    Yes, however only at resolutions of 1900x1200 and above.
     
  11. finchna macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    #11
    hi, did you get the mbp? if so, how it working with wow?
     
  12. rodimus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    #12
    a real wow test

    What better way to see how good your graphics are then to test it out ?:)
    So go to http://www.wow-titans.com/ and put ur PC graphics
    to the maximum test.

    With the custom events and gear & graphics
    supporting 3.3.5 + cata
    Rodimus
     

Share This Page