World of Warcraft on new MBP

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by wasabi612, Jun 6, 2007.

  1. wasabi612 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    #1
    I have been playing WoW and getting 35-50 fps in Shattrath and about 80-120 in IF. For the most part when in combat outdoors i am getting 30-50 FPS. What is Everyone else getting??


    I have the 256mb Card 2.4 core 2 duo
     
  2. TilJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #2
    Hey, thanks, I was just thinking about WoW benchmarks :D
    Is that full-screen or windowed mode? All settings at max? Plugged in or on battery?
     
  3. Animalk macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Location:
    Montreal Canada
  4. wasabi612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    #4
    That is Full Screen 1440x900 everything turned up while plugged in with Better performance energy setting on. Teamspeak was also running in the background but i doubt it would make much of a difference. I have a few UI mods but they only use 20mb of RAM.
     
  5. senc01a macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    #5
    Very nice.
    Do you know if the results are similar on the 128 mb version?
     
  6. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #6
    In Windows I got a solid 52-60FPS fighting around in Netherstorm. Full maxed settings, no "Level of Detail" checked.

    Amazing.

    128MB VRAM version.
     
  7. Skrilla™ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Houston
    #7

    I am holding off getting the new MBP because I need to know how WoW runs at 1920x1200, with everything on max. If it runs perfect on 128MB version I will get that, but if it is slow on that one I'll have to get the 256MB version.

    Can someone test the 128MB version at 1920x1200? Would have to be on an external monitor of course.

    If I did buy the 128MB version at a local apple store and did not like the performance, could I trade it in for the 256MB version?
     
  8. flopticalcube macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #8
    why don't you get the geniuses at The Apple Store to hook up a MBP to a 30" ACD and see for yourself?
     
  9. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #9
    You are kidding aren't you?

    Well first off the 128MB model probably won't even let you run at that resolution. If it does then it won't let you use any AA.

    Also you need a hard core 7950GT or 8800GT to run that kind of resolution at any proper frame rate.

    I don't think either model of the new MBP will please you.

    I don't think even the 24" iMac with 7600GT would run that resolution at respectable frame rates and that graphics card is much faster than the 8600M in the MBP.
     
  10. Skrilla™ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Houston
    #10

    You must be the one who's kidding. I have a home made box at home with a 7600GT and Athlon 3500 processor and only 1GB RAM with all settings on max at that resolution and its flawless.

    If that card can't run WoW at that resolution then there is no way to justify the price on that box.
     
  11. Skrilla™ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Houston
    #11
    They have WoW at the Apple store?
     
  12. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #12
    Yeah... I don't really know where you're getting this from. I've run WoW at 1920x1200 on my modded CD MacBook Pro. Doesn't run extremely well in Mac OS, but in Windows you can get a pretty respectable framerate off the X1600 overclocked to 420MHz or so.

    My 7600GS desktop (which is nowhere near GT performance) runs 1680x1050 very well, so I don't really think you'd have to worry about 1920x1200 performance with the 8600m GT in Windows.

    Go for the 256MB version if you want better performance (and have the money). If money is an issue, get the 128MB, it should serve you well. Especially when official Boot Camp drivers are out.
     
  13. aliquis- macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    #13
    What settings and OS (XP?) you are using aren't worth telling?
     
  14. geerlingguy macrumors 6502a

    geerlingguy

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Location:
    The Midwest, USA
    #14
    From http://www.apple.com/macbookpro/specs.html

    "Dual display and video mirroring: Simultaneously supports full native resolution on the built-in display and up to 2560 by 1600 pixels on an external display, both at millions of colors."

    This is for either video card.

    Now, whether or not you can turn on every option... I don't know.
     
  15. nateDEEZY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #15
    On the 24" in Osx with the 128mb gfx card it ran I believe at 30 or so fps at that resolution.
     
  16. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #16
    I can't wait to play WoW on mine. I can't wait for it to arrive, either! One thing's for sure, it's going to be better than on the previous MBP - and that's good enough for me :D

    I'm really interested to see how such a thin laptop handles a good WoW session tbh. Will it be hot? Will it be noisy? I'm really looking forward to finding out!
     
  17. wasabi612 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    #17
    Ok well as far as hooking up an external display goes it can be done now i dont know about the framrates. Before this New MBP i was using a 12" powerbook with a 32mb video card and running a 19" monitor at 1440x900 and playing wow with a low but playable frame rate. I would still only buy the 256 card becuase it is the most futureproofed and i would imagine the framrates are not as good but wow is not a graphic intense game. When i play wow it is EXTREMELY QUIET the laptop amazes me compared to my 12" you can barely hear the fan. After long periods of play if i am plugged in then i can notice the fan getting louder but it is still very minimal.
     
  18. James Craner macrumors 68000

    James Craner

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #18
    How hot does your new MBP SR get when you have been playing for a while ? On my 2.33Ghz MBP Dual Core after about 10 mins the fans sound like they are going to take off, when playing Wow
     
  19. ShStylo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    #19
    Really... I hope that doesn't happen on the 2.4Ghz SR MBP :(

    Is it always sounding like its about to take off? or only after maybe say 3 hrs of playing?
     
  20. James Craner macrumors 68000

    James Craner

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #20
    Just did some testing - from sleep my 2.33 Core 2 Duo MBP wakes up and fans are running at 2000 RPM - they are silent and I can't hear them during normal use. temperature of the GPU is about 40 C. After playing WoW for 10 mins , GPU temp is up to 60 C and I can hear the fans from outside the room - RPM is now some 5900 RPM on both the left and right fans.
     
  21. whateverandever macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Location:
    Baltimore
    #21
    Why was this thread moved?

    Mods sometimes...

    This thread specifically relates to the new MBPs ONLY. It shouldn't be in "Apple Games" where nobody that cares will be looking.
     
  22. Skrilla™ macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Houston
    #22
    no kidding.

    Does someone who really knows what they are talking about tell me if MBP w/ 256MB video card would be better for gaming (WoW) than my desktop with Athlon 3500 and 7600GT? I'm not looking for an answer form a newb, like the guy who thinks the laptop can't even output at 1920x1200. :rolleyes:
     
  23. Annndy! macrumors regular

    Annndy!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    Halethorpe, MD
    #23
    Both WoW and WoW: The Burning Crusade can be purchased at the Apple store. Whether it's actually installed on the in-store computers, I can't say for sure.
     
  24. TBi macrumors 68030

    TBi

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #24
    That is for 2D mode only, the resolution limits are different in 3D mode because you run out of memory faster.
     
  25. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #25
    I don't know from personal experience, because I don't have one of the new MacBook Pros, but from my knowledge of the components in it, the MacBook Pro should slightly outperform the Athlon. My MacBook Pro (2.0 GHz Core Duo, Radeon X1600 256 MB,) outperforms my desktop PC that has a Pentium Extreme Edition 965 (4 GHz,) with a 7600 GS 256 MB.
     

Share This Page