Worried about 'carbon-copying' Mac OS from HDD->SSD

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by chuckflip53, Apr 30, 2012.

1. chuckflip53 macrumors regular

I'm about to buy a new SSD for my MPB but am not sure about whether I should perform a clean install on my new HDD or just copy over my existing OS/programs.

My MBP currently has the Mac OS + Bootcamp Win7 but I only want to copy over my Mac OS partition along with most (but not all) of its programs.

The issue is, I'm afraid my current Mac OS is fragmented - which is why I want to perform a clean install on the SSD - though that would be such a hassle to reinstall all the updates, reinstall settings, etc...

I'm a noob at this but do the programs that clone hard drives have 'smart' options when copying over an OS? Also, do they allow me to select which programs to copy? (I don't want to copy over some apps).

Thanks.

2. lgwells1 macrumors regular

lgwells1

With CCC you can select which apps you wish to sync. Or you can take an external HDD and use time machine to back up your computer, it won't back up the OS just the files, apps and etc. Fresh install your OS on the SSD, then use time machine again to recover your backup from the external drive. You cannot pick and choose with time machine. It is all or nothing, sorry.

3. robgendreau macrumors 68030

I wouldn't recover from the backup, I'd migrate from it. There's a big difference. Ditto with cloning.

Since you're starting with a blank disk and a WORKING backup I'd install the system software on the SSD and then when Setup Ass't fires up I'd point to the old system/backup and migrate what you want from it.

And that would probably be the quickest. Cloning copies everything in exactly the same state and you really don't need to be that fussy.

Rob

4. chuckflip53 thread starter macrumors regular

Ok, so perform a clean install of the OS on the SSD and then migrate my apps from my HDD to the new SSD OS (which is a built-in function of OSX?)