Worried about university(rejections)

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by 7254278, May 13, 2008.

1. 7254278 macrumors 68020

Hey guys,

Just wanted to get something off my chest real quick. I am currently studying at UWIC in the UK. Not the best experience in the world. Because of this I choose to apply for transfer to some american universities and I was perhaps a tad ambitious to where I applied(an understatement). I have only gotten rejections so far.

My high school GPA was crap at only a 2.2 but I figured with my decent/good uni grades, some very good admission essays, two AMAZING recommendations, dual citizenship (american european) and being very international(multiple languages) I would get in some where.

My grades in the UK are as follows(doesnt really translate into an American GPA)

Economics- 70% A
    Marketing - 64% B
    Research Skills/Maths- 68% B+
    Information Systems- 58% C+
    Management- 61%- B
    Accounting- 47%- D+
    International Political Economy- 39% E (just passed)

Extra Curriculars

Captain of Varsity basketball team 11-12th grade
    Class Rep 12th Grade
    Yearbook graphics editor 11-12th grade
    Freshmen Course rep freshmen year university
    2 years of employment in a respected business luxuries firm

Colleges I applied to transfer:

Cornell- Rejected
    Babson- Rejected
    George Washington- Rejected
    Xavier- Waiting
    Drexel- Waiting
    Boston Uni- Waiting
    Northeastern Uni- Waiting

So far I have only received rejections and I am starting tog et very worried. Worst comes to worst I dont get in anywhere and finish my degree here. But I cant help but feel a tad lost and hopeless right now. I know it is my fault for aiming to high but I know if I do get in somewhere I will give it my best and come out with some amazing grades. Too bad I didnt try harder earlier on.

Anyway sorry for the rant I just wanted to get it off my chest. Thanks for reading

2. Gray-Wolf macrumors 68030

Gray-Wolf