Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jenga1891

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2010
My old MacBook Pro died, and along went all my files. It was a 7 year old laptop anyway, but I was seriously expecting it to last another couple years. I’m a grad student, and my board studying is placed on hold until I can find a laptop replacement quickly.

I am trying to decide between the older 2015 15 inch base model($1800 out the door including tax) and the 2017 13 inch 8gb ram, 256gb SSD model ($1430). I don’t have a real need for either of those models in terms of processing power and speed, because I’ll likely only use it for excels, watching videos, Powerpoints, and some Photoshop. But I don’t want the MacBook Air since it doesn’t have a retina screen, and I don’t want the macbook because the screen is just too small—I like the option of reading documents on the couch, so I wouldn’t be getting an external monitor either. Price is a consideration, as the difference in price is about $400.

Does it still make sense to get the 2015 15 inch model in 2018? I know this is a very commonly asked question in the past. I was actually looking into this exactly 12 months ago, when it was the consensus that the 2015 model is the one to go with. Now that it is 2018, I have seen people posting that it just doesn’t make sense to purchase 3 year old technology for these high prices.

I was about to pull the trigger on a factory refurbished 2015 15’’ exactly a year ago for about $1400 on eBay (it was a front page Slickdeal). I wish I had done it, because it looks like that was the cheapest it has ever been. I’m guessing that the demand for this is still big enough that the price never went down to that level again.