Worth it?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by JMVB, Aug 14, 2016.

  1. JMVB macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #1
  2. theunderseaclub macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #2
    If you're 5.1 is single CPU, you can try looking for a 5.1 dual CPU tray instead and swap that, instead a whole computer. You do see them on ebay.
     
  3. fhturner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #3
    Forgive me, but I don't quite understand what you're contemplating. Looks like from your sig that you already have the X5679 (separately, why Intel's ARK seem to be devoid of any listing of this chip?). RAM upgrade would be a good choice, but sounds like you're doing that anyway. Can you clarify what you're wondering is "worth it"?

    Fred
    --- Post Merged, Aug 14, 2016 ---
    From the EveryMac page he linked, I was under the impression he already had the dual processor system... Maybe he's wondering about upgrading TO the machine in the link. Maybe I'm just being dense! :p
     
  4. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #4
    I have the single CPU from my signature and I'm wondering if it worth change it by the everymac one..
     
  5. fhturner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #5
    Ok, I gotcha now. If you already have an X5679 and can simply pick up another one to put in a dual-proc machine, then I think that'd be a worthwhile upgrade, given the nature of your usage. Like theunderseaclub says, it might be a good plan to look for a dual-CPU tray and not swap the whole tower. Then again, it could be more cost-effective to get an entirely new tower and sell the old...
     
  6. theunderseaclub macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    #6
    Yea, I've been trying to find a system tray for my 4.1 (cannot use 5.1 on the 4.1), but they're almost more expensive then buying a used 4.1.

    At some point, I'll probably just pick up a dual cpu 5.1, and upgrade the CPUs.
     
  7. William_si macrumors regular

    William_si

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Location:
    Croatia
    #7
    I essentially bought a dual cpu one and swaped the tray, then gave it away. Works like a charm, both 4.1 and non-delid X5675s on 5.1 FW, booted first try as well - just don't put the screws in over feeling.
     
  8. fhturner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    #8
    You can use a 5,1 tray...just need to update the firmware of your 4,1 first.
     
  9. JMVB thread starter macrumors member

    JMVB

    Joined:
    May 16, 2016
    #9
    With the crazy prices in ebay, I think that's impossible. They ask more for a double tray than a whole tower

    For me is more convenient sell my actual and buy the one described in everymac.

    My question is about the performance. Worth it?
     
  10. benjaprud, Aug 15, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2016

    benjaprud macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    #10
    I think the best way to have an idea is to keep an eye on CPU usage while working. The activity monitor has some convenient way of displaying core usage. That way you'll see how your workflow scales on 6 cores. Most tasks can't make use of more than 1, 2 or 4 cores but in general professional video and audio applications tend to scale well. Only the tasks that are able to use the 6 cores are likely to scale further on 12 cores, and if so can complete up to 2 times faster.

    I don't use any professional software but with my usage, the only task I know that's capable of using close to 100% of my 6 cores CPU is x264 encoding (apart from some shared computing projects).
     
  11. grahamperrin macrumors 601

    grahamperrin

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #11
    Please, could you also put information at http://forums.macrumors.com/members/jmvb.1030021/ as a profile post?

    Bear in mind, some readers prefer the 'no signatures' option. (XenForo, which is used for this forum, is a bit weird.) Thanks.
     

Share This Page