Worth waiting for Arrandale? Or make first switch to Mac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by nahsor, Jun 15, 2009.

1. nahsor macrumors member

I have been a (frustrated) Windows user for the past 10 years and I finally have saved enough (I am a college student) to switch to a Mac. However, now all the talks about Arrandale has got me on the fence. Most people are saying it won't be released until Q1 '10 so is it worth waiting? Does Apple do well with 1st gen hardware? Because this has definitely not been the case with windows and if this similar with apple, then I would want to wait anyways. Right now I can get the free ipod touch (w/ student discount) and an updated Peryn processor at a great price. Plus, weren't they planning to upgrade to Sandy Bridge in 2010 also? I am not really planning any heavy use, just perhaps some accounting programs and light gaming. What do you guys think?

I am a Mac noob so any opinions/help would be appreciated :p

2. Joruus macrumors member

Like you surely have read here, wait a few more weeks at least until that SATA mess is cleared up. If you want a real speed Boost (since the switch to Intel there wasn't really a big increase of Computing Power) with also better battery life, i am sure the wait is well worth it. If someone cares, ill replace my by then 6 year old Notebook when Arrandale comes :)

3. aleksandra. macrumors 6502a

1. There's no guarantee Apple will use Arrandale as soon as it comes out. It's possible they'll, it's possible they won't. They didn't use Penryn immediately. They have reasons to wait this time.

2. You'll get all sorts of horrid revision A stories in a moment, I believe.

3. If you need it, buy it. Out of curiosity - what model are you considering?

4. nws0291 macrumors 6502a

If you want/can wait a year for arrandale to come out then do it. But remember when arrandale is out there will be a new proc architecture that you can wait just another year for. It never ends.