Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Gooze

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2007
Is it worth waiting for leopard?
I'm going to buy the 24' iMAC, but should i buy one now with tiger preinstalled or should i wait for leopard to be preinstalled?
My lessons are starting in 2 weeks and i'll probably need a computer then... . If they're going to release it in the beginning of october, i'll wait, but i'm afraid it's going to take longer... .

Btw. this is going to be my first mac... so i'm new to it.

Thnx anyway.

miniConvert

macrumors 68040
I wouldn't wait either. Nobody even knows if there'll be issues with the early incarnations of Leopard. I certainly don't fancy beta testing it.

Tiger is mature now, relatively speaking. Get it with Tiger and then upgrade at some point in the future after you know Leopard is in a good state.

Gooze

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 3, 2007
How about the hardware? Will they change something about that?
Thanks for the replies... the main reason for my purchase is final cut studio 2, so i'll probably be better of with tiger too i guess... because of it's stability right?
But another thing is... when i've installed programs like that and bootcamp with maybe windows vista too, is it still going to be easy to upgrade to leopard?

MK2007

macrumors regular
Aug 31, 2007
For most people I would definitely recommend waiting for Leopard. In your case, however, I suggest buying now instead of later. You will need the computer for classes and you are new to OS X. There are many things you have to learn about the operating system. Beyond that, new iMacs with Leopard might be in short supply when the new version of the operating system is released.