Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ETID

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 6, 2008
My parents have offered me around £400 for my macbook (described in signature) cus they want a mac. Normally I would have just said no but I saw on ebay you can buy the pre-unibody C2D Macbook pro with a speed around 2.2 for around 500-550. So I was thinking of selling and getting a second hand pro.

I'd love the bigger screen for work and better graphics for some games but just wondering if there is anything else to be aware of (apart from ebay scammers).

Seems good to me cus I'm a student and I will never have enough money for a new macbook pro for a very long time lol!!

ETID

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 6, 2008
Refurbished is still a bit pricy though. I'm still on the fence with the idea cus either way I'm going to be getting a second hand mac, as I will help my parents out as much as I can so thought I may as well treat myself a little too lol.

All depends on what deals are about I guess!

Cheers for the perspective

thebrain74

macrumors regular
Feb 25, 2006
First I would be a little wary of $500 MBP's on Ebay. Mine just went for $1,050 and tons of them go for $700+. Also buying a non-unibody pro is a gamble based on the graphics card. If that card fails you're our $700 for a logic board replacement to fix* the problem. At least the computer you have now doesn't have a defective GPU in it.

*by fix I mean replace a broken part with the same one which will break again in the future

QCassidy352

macrumors G5
Mar 20, 2003
Bay Area
First I would be a little wary of $500 MBP's on Ebay. Mine just went for $1,050 and tons of them go for $700+. Also buying a non-unibody pro is a gamble based on the graphics card. If that card fails you're our $700 for a logic board replacement to fix* the problem. At least the computer you have now doesn't have a defective GPU in it.