Would 3G support require a software update or hardware update?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kavika411, Jun 26, 2007.

  1. kavika411 macrumors 6502a

    kavika411

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Location:
    Alabama
    #1
    I don't know jack about wireless technology. I don't even know what 3G is, but it seems a lot of people are bummed that the iPhone doesn't won't run on AT&T's 3G network. Question - would it require a hardware or software update to run on the 3G network? Thanks.
     
  2. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #4
    3G is basically a fast way for phones to connect to networks, this would means things like Video calls and would give faster internet access from the iPhone.

    3G would require a hardware update (assuming it is not like the N wireless card in the iMacs etc, that is to say that it is present but not enabled.)
     
  3. hcopp macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI
    #5
    hardware update for sure

    unless for some reason they built in some 3g chips and just need to turn them on, but that would be pretty stupid.
     
  4. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #6
  5. dagomike macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #8
    Is AT&T's 3G backwards compatible with EDGE? In other words, are all 3G devices capable of using EDGE/GSM?
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #9
    The way I understand it is the all 3G phones are also GSM (at least this side of the pond) THis way when 3G isn't available it falls back on GSM. However EDGE is a different/competing format and is not compatible with 3G so you either have EDGE/GSM or 3G/GSM.
     
  7. eddietr macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Virginia
    #10
    Don't know about all. But the Blackjack can use EDGE, and also my Aircard reverts to EDGE when it can't find 3G. In fact, around the DC area I get an EDGE connection as often as I get a 3G connection. And most of the time, when I get a 3G connection, ironically it's where I also have WiFi!
     
  8. pr5owner macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #11
    3G is a seperate peice of hardware using a diffrent frequency, if the FCC documents do not include 3G, the iphone simply does NOT have 3G, GPRS and EDGE work off your exsisting connection, this is why you cant connect to the internet and talk at the same time.

    iphone 2.0 must be FCC approved for the 3G radio before apple can sell it, the FCC documents also must be public.

    EDGE is like dialup, you cannot talk on your phone and have edge going
    3G is litterally highspeed, you can talk and surf at the same time

    big diffrence, its too bad apple didnt have at least UMTS, if they did, they would only be 1 generation behind, but with 2.75G (edge) they are 2 generations behind and going onto 3 because 4G is just around the corner
     

Share This Page