Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mastropiero

macrumors member
Original poster
May 26, 2016
Hi everyone.

I have been using a cMP 1,1 since September 2007. Over the years I've invested in the usual stuff, more RAM, better spinning drives, a nice SSD and also, since I found this forum, tweaked it so I could run El Capitan on it. Plugged also a PCIe USB 3.0 card and, obviously, upgraded the GPU to the ATI Radeon 5770.

I mainly use it for consumer photo editing, Affinity Photo is my preferred photo editor, and once in a blue moon I will dabble a bit in video editing using Final Cut Pro.

Well, I am starting to notice its shortcomings, it takes ages to import pictures to Lightroom, editing in Photo could/should be quicker and smoother, not to mention that it is most likely not a power efficient machine and if I leave it running for a while it does get warm under the desk.

So I wouldn't mind replacing it. I am quite fond of the system and I wanted to ask you if you'd consider getting a 5,1 a good investment and I'd also like to ask your opinion regarding what configuration I should go for considering my needs.

I am not the most technically savvy person, it would be fair to say that I'd directly assume "bigger is better" but that is also a sign of not having a clue regarding certain things, specifically about CPU's. It would be rather stupid if I went for an expensive 12 Core unit if the programs I use don't make the most of it.

I am also not a gamer, although I might be interested in using from time to time Microsoft's Flight Simulator via BootCamp or a VM (less ideal, or at least it used to be on my computer).

All this considered what would be your recommendations? What would be a decent set up for me? On a side note, would be useful for me to keep my current GPU and run a dual GPU set up on the 5,1?

Many thanks,
Stefan

Ph.D.

macrumors 6502a
Jul 8, 2014