Resolved Would a Mac Pro be overkill? My MBP not cutting it.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by jesusplay, Dec 16, 2015.

  1. jesusplay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    SOUTH
    #1
    I just got a Sony a7r Mark II and I've been toying around with processing 42MP photos in Capture one pro 9 and I've been messing with some 4k video recording...

    I've noticed my stock macbook pro 2015 dGPU machine is not keeping up and doing lagging.

    I was thinking about selling this mid-2015 MBP dGPU and getting the low end Mac Pro.

    Is the mac pro overkill?
     
  2. garirry macrumors 68000

    garirry

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Location:
    Canada is my city
    #2
    I can't really answer that question, but just a quick suggestion, if you can, wait a few months for a Mac Pro refresh, as the current one is kinda obsolete by today's standards.
     
  3. joelypolly macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Location:
    Melbourne & Shanghai
    #3
    Have Mac Pro and 42MP photos still take a while to load. I would recommend that you take a few files to the Apple Store and see if you can live with it.
     
  4. Celedral macrumors 6502

    Celedral

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    I'm using an a7s II for 4k videos and find my 6core/d500/64GB to be extremely underwhelming. The quad core and 2gb of VRAM in the base mac pro would concern me for 42mp editing.
     
  5. jesusplay thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    SOUTH
    #5
    wow, I'm so confused now.
     
  6. Arron Rouse macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Location:
    Chichester, UK
    #6
    A while to load on a Mac Pro? What are you using, a 1,1 with a 3600RPM drive?

    My 5,1 with SSD on SATA II takes less than a second to load a 41MP raw into Photoshop.
     
  7. Inutopia macrumors 6502

    Inutopia

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    #7
    Maybe he's talking about preview generation in Lightroom or similar? I don't usually load my raws straight into Photoshop as it would be a really inefficient workflow for me.

    36mpix files from my D800s do take a few seconds to render 1:1, it's a pain but just part of life with these high megapixel cameras.
     

Share This Page