Would an iPad 2 work in this situation?

Discussion in 'iPad' started by AppleGirl(:, Mar 6, 2011.

1. AppleGirl(: macrumors newbie

I'm a high school student. I was considering getting a Macbook Pro but with my budget that's a pretty good amount of saving. When the iPad 2 was announced, I got to thinking. iWork can be used on the iPad so I could type up school documents. I could use the Apple wireless keyboard. I would have mainly used the MBP for Safari, documents, e-mail, nothing too complex. What do you think? Would an iPad 2 work in my case?

Thank you!

~AppleGirl:)

2. v66jack macrumors 6502a

v66jack

It may well work for you, but I wouldn't want to use an iPad for all my document writing, its just not that great at that stuff. iPad is much more a consumption tool, not a creation tool.

Have you considered getting a normal MacBook, or buying a used MacBook Pro to save money. if all your doing is internet, mailing, documents a used MacBook would more than meet your needs. Plus be good to your wallet.

3. coorspate macrumors regular

coorspate

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

It should work just fine, and give you better battery life. Just make sure all the docs you Plan to work with are compatable.

4. Cha macrumors regular

I know plenty of people using the iPad to type documents and email using either the dock or a wireless keyboard. You should be ok. You can always try it for a week and see how it goes... and then return it if you do not like it.

5. danest macrumors member

The iPad 2 would work but I dont think you should just have it as the main thing to type up documents. I would suggest getting a regular macbook and having and iPad 2 as an extra thing to have.

6. Dr Kevorkian94 macrumors 68020

for typing it might be a little bit harder than on a ipad (physically) i can do it but some cant.