iPhone Would be Grateful For Any Advice on How to Proceed with a Cydia issue...

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by pollybrowne, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. pollybrowne macrumors member

    pollybrowne

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #1
    I jailbroke my iPhone 4s running iOS 5.1.1 this summer. I don't have very many things installed--no more than the average user, possibly a little less. I do have winterboard but I only run a couple of tweaks. For the last couple of months I've had the following problems:

    1. My phone crashes/reboots often (daily) with increasing frequency.
    2. When I've tried to update paid Cydia apps that I purchased through paypal
    months ago, for ex. Barrel, Color Keyboard etc., that show up on my list of
    changes/updates in Cydia I get an error message about how the action
    couldn't be completed because the package needs to be purchased first
    this isn't that big of a deal, I don't even mind repurchasing them, I just
    thought I included it if it might help someone identify the larger issue).

    Then, as of Monday when I try to open Cydia I get the following error messages:

    Wow, you exceeded the number of package names this APT is capable of.

    Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/lists/cydia.winterboarder.com__Packages

    The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened


    And then when I hit the "return to Cydia" button underneath, I have the "Welcome to Cydia" home screen etc., but under changes the screen is completely blank, there is nothing listed. And when I search for something, nothing comes up.



    Over the last month, before the problem with Cydia loading, when I was just experiencing the crashing, I'd started going through and uninstalling apps/tweaks one by one (starting with the most recent and going from there) to try to weed out the problem, I was probably about 3/4s of the way through and nothing had changed in terms of crashing...and now I can't load cydia properly in order to be able to continue uninstalling things (though most of what was left, I'd had since I first jailbroke this summer and had had no problems with).

    My next step was going to be uninstalling Winterboard, but I'm not sure how to do that without being able to load my installed apps on Cydia. But now I'm wondering if I need to reinstall Cydia altogether? If so could someone explain how to go about that without having to re-JB? Or is there something else that I'm overlooking that could be causing the problems or that I could try to address them?

    Any help would be MUCH appreciated!!

    Thank you!
     
  2. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
  3. pollybrowne thread starter macrumors member

    pollybrowne

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #3
    I have Cydia version 1.1.6
     
  4. aPple nErd macrumors 68030

    aPple nErd

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Location:
    Jailbreaks/IOS Hacks
  5. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #5
    Cydia 1.1.8 is out, it come out silently when the tether iOS 6 jailbreak was released.

    I used this site to update mine:
    http://iphonehackiosdev.blogspot.com/p/how-to-update-cydia-to-1.html

    After I updated, Cydia loads faster for me, less errors and it also picked up files that were updated that 1.1.6 did not see.
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #6
    1.1.8 is designed for 6.X

    1.1.6 blocks packages which are for 6.X only, forcing 1.1.8 install might get you in to trouble when you install a packages which is only supported in 6.X

    be careful with 1.1.8

    @OP

    try this to reset Cydia

    Navigate to /private/etc/apt/sources.list.d

    Delete the file "cydia.list"

    Navigate to /var/lib/apt/lists

    Delete all of the files in this folder except the one called "lock"

    Navigate to /var/lib/apt/lists/partial

    Delete all of the files in this folder

    Navigate to /var/lib/cydia

    Delete the file "metadata.plist"

    Restart Cydia. You should be at the first screen you saw when you first started Cydia: What kind of user are you? Make your selection and Cydia will re-generate the default sources.
     
  7. dinggus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    #7
    Cydia should already detect the firmware we're on. I have yet downloaded a tweak for iOS 6. Cydia wouldn't even let me download Auxo because it was only available for iOS 6 at the time.

    From what I read
     
  8. pollybrowne thread starter macrumors member

    pollybrowne

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #8
    Thanks! That fixed the issue with Cydia displaying what I had installed etc.--so from there, as far as the crashing etc. that I'd started addressing by going though and removing tweaks/apps, should I continue and go ahead and uninstall winterboard and my other packages? Because it's still lagging and crashing...
     
  9. pollybrowne thread starter macrumors member

    pollybrowne

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #9
    Okay, I uninstalled Winterboard, but I started to add back Cydia sources and I got 4/5 in with no errors, then suddenly I got the same Wow, you've exceeded... error again except instead of winterboarder it listed pwncenter merge list problem. I tried to go back and remove the last source I'd added but, like before, everything was blank.

    So I guess I'm going to go try to reset Cydia again?
     
  10. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #10
    yep
     
  11. mi3x macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    #11
    Install iCleaner from Cydia and turn on Cydia clean options. That will fix your problems.
     
  12. pollybrowne thread starter macrumors member

    pollybrowne

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    #12
    Okay, do you know which source has iCleaner? I'm trying to re-add as few sources as possible since I keep running into problems...


    BTW, if that doesn't work, am I correct in my understanding that I can't restore to 5.1.1 and re-JB my phone if I didn't save my blobs prior to when they stopped signing 5.1.1?
     
  13. mi3x macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    #13
    Your assumption is correct. You need your blobs saved either locally or in cydia. If they are not shown on the main cydia opening page, they are not saved.

    iCleaner can be found in the big boss repo, it's free and it just got updated. It should work. Good luck.
     
  14. chimneysweep42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    #14
    Simple Fix For This Problem...

    Go Into Cydia and Look at the Sources.... Hit the Edit Button and Delete any Source that Has a Question Mark as the Graphic (?) this will delete the repository that is causing your problems and everything will start working again... It fixed Mine Immediately.
     
  15. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #15
    You get that error when you have too many sources. Delete some of the ones you don't need considering you say you have less tweaks than the average user
     

Share This Page