Would buying a Core 2 Duo MBP really be that outdated?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Kyle-S, Mar 28, 2010.

  1. Kyle-S macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere, OHIO
    #1
    I was onboard with everyone else with waiting for the "next big thing" but would the difference between a new chipset really outdate a brand new MBP? I mean will the Core 2 really be stupid purchase? I do have no reason to buy now other than to have a new laptop...

    My uses are really only: Sim 3, Safari, Photoshop, and Word...
    But I do want this next laptop to last me a long time...
     
  2. thejadedmonkey macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #2
    Yes. The video card in the MBP is a joke, and the new i5 and i7 CPU's blow the C2D out of the water, it's something like a 15-20% increase I think.

    a refreshed macbook pro will run the sims 3 better. So wait :p
     
  3. simonshek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    #3
    If you can wait, why are you rushing to buy a current "new" mbp?
     
  4. shareef777 macrumors 68000

    shareef777

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #4
    I don't think the new chips are going to significantly change the way you use your computer. Personally, I believe the update is going to be more significant then just a spec bump. Only reason I'm holding out. If I knew it was just a processor and video card upgrade, then I'd have one already and be off of this god forsaken ThinkPad.
     
  5. Kyle-S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere, OHIO
    #5
    The waiting game is getting old. I also have a trip in mid April, and I would like to have a MBP to take along... Plus my Dell's video card is crap and Sims keeps crashing it every 5 mins...
     
  6. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #6
    I'd like to know the story behind this.
     
  7. scottlinux macrumors 6502a

    scottlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2005
    #7
    Even the lowest mobile i3 processor blows past any Core 2 Duo processor by current benchmarks. (pcper, etc.)

    The run cooler, more efficient, and have major architecture improvements (north bridge components on the CPU now; no more front side bus, etc).

    Dell and Lenovo (edge models) already have i3 and i5 laptops out for $500-700 bucks. I don't know why it's taking apple so long.

    It's worth waiting. Probably the most significant change from intel since the Core Duo/ Core 2 Duo line came about.
     
  8. Kyle-S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere, OHIO
    #8
    I'm not really sure, when I play Sims 3, every so often, 5 minutes was an exaggeration, more like 20 minutes; anyways the game goes bizarre so I would close out of it and some error message pops up saying that my "graphics... stopped responding and has recovered successfully," but the game still is messed up until I quit out of it and re-open it... This computer should be able to handle this game with no problems or I would assume anyways...
     
  9. Hellishness macrumors 65816

    Hellishness

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    #9
    i agree and im in the same boat.
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    Have you updated your video drivers?

    I'm seeing nVidia and Vista in my imagination.
     
  11. Kyle-S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere, OHIO
    #11
    No, but shouldn't the computer prompt me to do so?
    Yes Vista, and nVidia no, it has an Intel GMA 3100.
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    Get newer drivers from Intel.

    At least you have hardware shaders on the GMA X3100 but it's a joke putting it in for the minimum requirements of Sims 3.
     
  13. Kyle-S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere, OHIO
    #13
    How would I go about doing this? Could you provide me with a link?
     
  14. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  15. Kyle-S thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere, OHIO
    #15
  16. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #16
    That makes much more sense then. If you're on the GMA 3100, you don't have hardware shaders. It's all emulated via software on the CPU.

    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Sea...ers&ProductProduct=Intel®+G33+Express+Chipset

    You're going to have similar game compatibility issues like earlier generations of Intel GMA.
     
  17. unagimiyagi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #17
    If you take out the benchmarks, I doubt most people will notice a difference. You're better off getting more ram and a faster hard drive.

    Firefox won't start any faster, nor will hulu, nor will outlook, nor will AIM or MSN messenger.

    If you do video editing, stats, heavy database stuff, yes.

    But only buy the "old" macbook pro if you're getting a great price for it.
    But I don't have a good impression of the longevity of these machines. Pretty, but fragile.
     
  18. synth3tik macrumors 68040

    synth3tik

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #18
    you are on a desktop, however the video card is a mobile one.
     
  19. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #19
    The Intel 3 Series chipset was binned out for various purposes. The lower wattage versions going for mobile parts. The cheaper versions lacking hardware shaders so you're back to using software emulation like the GMA 950 and earlier models.
     
  20. cschwartzy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    #20
    From what I have gathered reading as much as I can on these forums is it is a better value for you money to wait (if you can) for the next refresh since Apple does not discount their laptops even if they are not the most "up to date" technology.
     
  21. Frosties macrumors 6502a

    Frosties

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Sweden
    #21
    First check dells updated drivers and software, before going to intel and whatnot!
     
  22. FieryFurnace macrumors 6502

    FieryFurnace

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    Berlin, Germany
    #22
    Why don't you put in a new graphic card, to give your PC some more life, until the MBP refresh happens?
     
  23. mikem7522 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    #23
    Why does this warrant a new thread? There's a billion and one of these questions that have been thoroughly discussed in the arrandale threads. :confused:
     
  24. mikeo007 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    #25
    Using straight release dates, the Core 2 Duo is outdated, regardless of what computer it's in.

    The original Core 2 Duo Merom came out almost 4 years ago
    The Penryn in the "current" Macbooks is well over 2 years old

    So yes, it's old in terms of technology.
     

Share This Page