Would iMac RAM work on MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by isoMorpheus, Oct 9, 2011.

  1. isoMorpheus Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    #1
    I have two 1GB RAM piece from an iMac that I want to use on a MacBook, though I'm not sure if they would work at all.

    The iMac RAM reads:

    "1GB 2Rx16 PC3-8500S-7-10-A1
    HMT112S6AFR6C-G7 N0 AA 0915"

    The MacBook(2.1 GHz Core 2 Duo) currently runs on two 512 RAM with the following spec,

    512 MB
    DDR2 SDRAM
    667 MHz
    0xAD00000000000000
    0x48594D503136345336344350362D59352020
    0x00003136

    Thanks.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    No, that Macbook needs DDR 2. But that iMac is DDR3.
     
  3. session101 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    quit being a cheap ass! is $35 too much for you to spend for 4 gigs of RAM?
     
  4. isoMorpheus thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    #4
    Thanks Intell! To session 101, I hear ya, I was just making sure.:D
     

Share This Page