Would it be worth buying a used 2011 Macbook Pro?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by TSmith16, May 27, 2015.

  1. TSmith16 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #1
    I'm looking for a new computer and have been interested in the Macbook Pro for a while. The problem is, the new ones (even the 2012s and newer) are way out of my price range. On eBay, there are several people and high rated sellers who are selling 2011 versions of the Mac Pro. These are in my price range but I'm concerned that they're too old.

    I plan on doing video editing and writing. I also want to be able to bring it to college with me in a year. My other option is to buy another Windows PC but I really would like to upgrade to a Mac.

    I know Macs have a reputation of lasting a long time if cared for properly but I need suggestions. Also, would a Macbook Pro at that age even work okay with Yosemite?
     
  2. Samuelsan2001 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    #2
    What size are you looking at this makes a huge difference as to whether it's worth it!!!

    But you are still looking at USB 2, old bluetooth spec, no HDMI, etc on them all.

    To be honest it sounds like you'd either be better saving to get something more modern or getting a cheap modern windows machine that will spank the old 2011 MBP for a very cheap price.
     
  3. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #3
    It's not that they're too old - they're quite capable machines still. But they (except 13") are affected by a rather widespread GPU issue. Fortunately, it's covered under an extended repair programme until Feb 2016, but after that you might be on your own with it, and a new logic board is expensive.

    See if you can't find a non-Retina 2012 at a price that's acceptable.

    As for Yosemite, yes it would run beautifully (Early 2011 owner here running Yosemite) - especially with an SSD.
     
  4. jesusplay macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Location:
    SOUTH
    #4
    possible video card issues with the dGPU, I've had no issues

    I use my macbook every day for years with no problems, ram will need to be maxed out in my opinion and a SSD will make it run a bit more snappier

    video editing? I have no comment.
     
  5. Isamilis macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    #5
    If you look at Macbook Pro 2011, avoid 15", get 13" instead. 15" has graphics card issues.
    It also strongly recommended to replace HDD with SSD. The USB2 vs USB3 is critical if you frequently using external disk as your main storage.
    You can also remove the CD-drive slot and use it for 2nd HDD.

     
  6. TSmith16 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    #6
    If I did buy one, I would be buying one with at least 8 GB RAM and probably no less than 250 GB on the hard drive. Perhaps saving up for the 2012 might be a better option but I'm going to need a new computer soon and I don't know if I'll have enough money saved up by then. Not to mention, I would have to buy all new software for my Apple (video editing program, writing processor, new Scrivener license).

    Still, I'm not sure if its worth buying another PC. Its good to know though that the 2011 are still good. Does this GPU affect both the early and late released versions of the 2011 Mac Pros?
     
  7. JTToft macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Aarhus, Denmark
    #7
    - It affects all 2011 15" and 17" machines (see the link I posted above).
    How much of an issue it is for you depends on a number of things. For me it's mostly just an inconvenience, since I don't require my machine for professional uses, have access to day-to-day service and am covered until at least March 2018 because of lovely consumer protection laws.
    I had mine repaired (logic board replacement) this March after 4 years of faultless operation when it suddenly failed completely. It often comes on quite suddenly and the fails can be drastic - mine couldn't boot at all when it happened, just showing a grey screen with horizontal white lines.
     

Share This Page