Would like advice about which MPB to buy.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by bub, Jun 18, 2012.

1. bub macrumors member

Hello! I need advice on upgrading.

The last 15" MacBook Pro I have is from 2005. It's still a good machine, but it's not doing what I need to do now that I'm a full time freelancer, so I'm looking to replace it. I have no idea what the current Macs are like, other than the fact that pretty much almost anything I buy will be better than what I have now. I'm definitely getting a 15" again, I like the size.

Generally I'd like to spend somewhere in the $2500ish range, maybe more, hopefully less.

I'm wondering whether I'll need the retina display. It seems more like it's in the "nice to have" category rather than "need to have".

In the non-retina MBP, is it worth the $250 to upgrade to 2.7GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7 from the 2.6GHz?

I'm typically running Illustrator, InDesign, and Photoshop at the same time, but more recently I've been running Flash as well. I'm mostly a print designer but I've been doing more and more animation & art for online marketing, games, etc.

Any and all opinions are appreciated. Thanks!

2. Rizzm macrumors 6502a

I'd assume the Retina display would help with your work to get really fine details. Not nearly as valuable if you work primarily with an external display. Go to a store and take a look. Pay attention to the differences between the Retina and non Retina model like screen glare (compared to high-res anti-glare config), weight, price, and upgradability (or lack of with Retina).

IMO definitely NOT worth the $250 upgrade for a 3-4% boost. Only if you have money to blow.

3. DrJohnZoidberg macrumors member

The 16GB RAM upgrade is essential if you want to keep the rMBP for the same duration you've kept your current MBP. If you don't get it now, you'll never have it, and the idea of being stuck with 8GB RAM in 2018 is laughable.