Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Hamster747

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 14, 2009
Co. Meath, Ireland.
Hi Guys, I'm new to this forum and this is my first posting. I'm a writer and have decided to switch to a mac, a Macbook Air to be specific. The only thing is I live in Ireland and no retail store really has them to test :mad: . So I've decided to post a thread and get some insight. from MBA I'm aware of the heat issue :( . There are a few things I would like to know. Is it worth the money? I've read on the MR forums Snow Leopard has glitches and other problems, Is this affecting a minority of users? How do the mono speakers sound? I am a big user of iTunes. Are there any issues I should be aware of? How many MBA users bought the air super drive and actually used it? Which is better HDD or SSD? Is there anything else I should know? Please No immature remarks. Yes I know the MBA has limited RAM and HDD/SSD But feel free to point out why I should not buy one. Also do many people use the MBA as their only machine?

Thanks Guys. :)

netdog

macrumors 603
Feb 6, 2006
London
My MBA has become my main computer. I only fire up my Mac Pro when doing serious media editing. 'Nuff said?

robabb

macrumors newbie
Sep 9, 2009
Macbook Air - Ireland

Hi there, fellow Meath Man!

I've lurked in the Macbook Air forums for some time now as I am planning on purchasing one in the future. I just registered on the site though, so that I could give you a little feedback on your question.

I don't know if you get in to Dublin City Centre frequently, however Curry's in the Jervis Street Shopping Centre have a Macbook Air on display (Rev B, last time I checked) that you can play around with.