Would like to upgrade my wireless signal and speed

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by HE15MAN, Sep 6, 2009.

1. HE15MAN macrumors 6502a

HE15MAN

I am running ATT DSL Extreme 3.0 and have a Linksys WRT54G wireless router. I currently only get wireless in approx. half of my house, and the half in which I don't get it, will be needing it. So I am going to need to buy a range extender or wireless access point? I am a college student so I don't have a large budget, but I am looking for advice. Should I stick with Linksys and just buy one of their range extenders, or should I buy an Airport Extreme and hope the N signal is stronger? I am going to be sharing files soon when I get my Mac Mini HTPC setup going on in the living room to this from my other iMac's and MBP.

In summary, I am just not sure if it would be worth the extra $ for the Airport extreme or if I should just stick with the linksys..

Thanks!

2. Slowstick macrumors 6502

Just get a Linksys Wireless N router. You can get one fairly cheap and it will do what you need to do. If you REALLY NEED the power of the Airport, get a Linksys Wireless N Dual Band Broadband router. It does pretty much EXACTLY what the Airport would do.

Hope thathelps!!

3. HE15MAN thread starter macrumors 6502a

HE15MAN

Thanks for the prompt response. I am just getting kinda fed up with Linksys and their POS equiptment. I have to reset this router, and their two I have owned before this one at least twice a week, and they also are kinda a pain in the butt to set up, or at least they used to be. Read a lot of people saying how easy the Airport was/is. What makes teh Airport extreme so powerful like you imply?

4. Slowstick macrumors 6502

Well, the Airport is Dual Band Wireless-N, etc and does the SAME thing a higher end linksys would do in terms of Wi-Fi. That is essentially what makes the route powerful. One that isn't dual band doesn't quite give the range and speed as one that is.