Would Mac Mini to TimeCapsule as bridge work with wire?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by dmk1974, Oct 25, 2014.

  1. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    This may sound somewhat confusing what I am proposing, but bear with me.

    On my first floor, I have my cable modem and a Netgear wireless router. I currently also have an older TimeCapsule ethernet connected to that router and the wireless is turned off on the TimeCapsule. On my second floor in my office I have a 2012 Mac Mini that is connected wirelessly to the Netgear router.

    So I can have faster backups and file transfers to the Mac Mini from the TimeCapsule, I was thinking of moving the Time Capsule to the office and then ethernet connecting it to the Mac Mini. What I am unsure of though is, if I have it ethernet connected to the Mac Mini, which device should I have the wireless turned "on"...the TimeCapsule (to use as a bridge to the Netgear) or the Mac Mini (but will the Mini talk to the TimeCapsule via ethernet concurrently if the TC wireless is off just like it is at the moment)?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Just connect the TC by ethernet directly to the mini and leave everything else like it is. The mini will still use the Netgear for wifi and it will see the TC over ethernet for your backups.
     
  3. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #3
    Ok thanks, I'll give that a shot. So basically then the TC will be an ethernet connected hard drive. Since the TC and Mac Mini are both gigabit speed, I'd hope it's pretty fast connected in that manner.
     
  4. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Exactly.
     

Share This Page