Would this be a good HD & RAM upgrade?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Krafty, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #1
    Well, I have a 2Ghz CD Intel MacBook, and after going through hell with the last two upgrade I'm going to try to do this one more time:

    Hard Drive; Looking for 250GB storage, around 130 or so. I cannot shell out too much more. I purchased a WD Scorpio that went defective on me after installing Leopard, so I had to ship that back. I am not looking at this one:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822152094

    Same specs, and cheaper, but its hard when some reviews are positive and others are negative, and then having to ship it back and wait ANOTHER 2 weeks for them to fill the freaking RMA.

    RAM; 2GB. I purchased a 1x2GB stick (Kingston) and Photoshop kept crashing every 2 or 3 reloads, so I shipped that back as well when people decided to wait and tell me a 2GB stick wouldnt be proper in my MacBook AFTER I bought it. So here's what I got:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820134372

    2x1GB sticks, should do the job.

    Anything else? Remember, college student = Barely any money (or food, yes, they make you starve in these dorms).
     
  2. stainlessliquid macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #2
    The "mac memory" is more expensive for no reason.

    Theres nothing wrong with using one stick of 2gb, you probably just got a bad stick or your photoshop is messed up.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820141297

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211194

    Those are cheaper (keep in mind the 2gb stick also has free shipping, there are a couple other sticks with around the same price and a better rating but no free shipping). And yes they work in macs, just like 99.999999% of "pc" memory out there, check the user reviews for people using a mac with success.
     
  3. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #3
    I've talked to people on here and on the Apple support and they told me to go with 2x1GB sticks. My photoshop is fine cause after putting me 2x512MB back it it works perfectly now.

    Any idea on the HD?
     
  4. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land

Share This Page