Would you Change 3.1 Dual for 5.1 Single CPU

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Stageshoot, May 4, 2015.

  1. Stageshoot macrumors regular

    Stageshoot

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Central UK
    #1
    I got the following system for my daughter to use for photo editing

    Mac Pro 3.1
    2x 2.8 Quad Xeon
    20Gb RAM (4x1Gb 800Mhz and 4x4Ghz 667 Mhz) so running at 667Mhz
    2x 500Gb Drive
    GT8800 Graphics

    I paid £275 for it on Gumtree

    I have been offered another system

    Mac Pro 5.1 (Genuine 5.1 not an upgraded 4.1)
    1x 2.8Ghz Xeon (Quad)
    16Gb Ram
    1x 1Tb HDD
    HD5770 Graphics

    Been offered it for £400

    I can sell the 3.1 today for £400 so it would be a no cost upgrade to the 5.1

    Do you think it would be worthwhile upgrade, its going back to a Single 4 Core CPU (Albiet with Hyperthreading) against the grunt of the Dual CPU 3.1

    My Daughter seems happy with the performance of the 3.1 but I just feel getting the newer 5.1 would be better for any future upgrades longevity of the system etc.

    Any Thoughts.
     
  2. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
  3. fuchsdh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #3
    Like Sheep, I'd say it's a no-brainer. You get a decent speed increase out of the box, and far more flexibility and performance for any additional upgrades, if you want to make them. Going from a 3.1 with 24GB of RAM and a 5770 to the machine in my sig was definitely a noticeable step up.
     
  4. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
  5. Stageshoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Stageshoot

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Central UK
    #5
    Cheers

    Well I have just purchased the second machine (Another local Gumtree Ad)

    Was just worried the speed of the 5.1 (Geekbenches about 1/3 Slower than the dual CPU 3.1) could be an issue, but I suppose going forward putting a 6 Core Xeon in it would get rid of that issue.
     
  6. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #6
    A lot of forum threads it seems comparing performance, ease of updates.

    All PCIe 2.x slots helps, support for 1333MHz DDR3, 6 or 12-core and of course more RAM, and probably longer support; and much better GPU support/performance.

    Of course depends what your daughter (owner/user?) uses it for now and down the road. But for the price (zero down!) yes, "no brainer" to move up.
     
  7. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #7
    You do realise that if it stays as a quad-core 5,1 that it is actually less powerful for many applications than the octo-core 3,1?

    Single stream CPU performance is a whisker faster (CPU Mark 4308 vs. 4182) but double the number of cores is a big advantage for any professional applications that use multiple cores (Geekbench3 8369 vs 10383)
     
  8. Stageshoot thread starter macrumors regular

    Stageshoot

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Location:
    Central UK
    #8
    Yes as I said I was concerned about the lack of Multi CPU punch, She uses it for batch photo editing in her Studio so I will give her the 5.1 to try, if it lacks the power needed at least its not expensive to throw a single 6 Core 3.33Ghz CPU in it (Not really viable to geta new tray to go dual CPU tho)
     
  9. nigelbb macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #9
    I'd keep both Mac Pros:) You got each for a bargain price. I keep looking on Gumtree for a cheap 4,1 but never see one locally. There a seem to be more overpriced 1,1 2,1 & 3,1
     

Share This Page