Would you miss the optical drive on MBP if apple removed it?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by redshovel, Jul 16, 2009.

1. redshovel macrumors 6502

redshovel

Had my MBP for a couple of weeks now and can honestly say my optical drive has only been used once - and that was to install Office for work purposes onto my Windows 7 RC Parallels setup. I dont buy music CDs and any I do own have been ripped to iTunes. Never buy DVDs anymore either. Any I have have been ripped to Divx format and any new releases can be obtained online.

As I own other computers with optical drives I think i could do without the one on the MBP - but then again its good to have it too I suppose. Not made up my mind on this one I guess.:confused:

Just wondered how many of you would miss the optical drive?

2. Drumjim85 macrumors 68030

Drumjim85

I would miss it. Being an audio professional, i use it quite a bit.

3. MacDawg macrumors P6

MacDawg

Didn't we just have a big thread about this with a poll?
    I will have to dig it up, it was just a short while back

Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]

4. celticpride678

No. I don't really think so. The optical drives just adds more weight for something most people do not need. Everything put on CDs/DVDs can be put on the web for download or a SD Card (Which Apple has already adapted). I still think Apple should offer a laptop or configuration with a optical drive, but it should not be included in most consumer notebooks (mainly because of the weight factor).

5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

Tallest Skil

I'd sure like to be able to install things, so yes, I would miss it.

Other than that, get rid of the worthless thing.

6. upinflames900 macrumors 6502a

upinflames900

I would miss it...what about using your MBP as a DVD player? I do that all the time. Also installing software. Bottom line is the drive is still necessary today, but might not be in the future.

7. MacMur macrumors regular