Would You Opt For A Retina Display On The 2012 iMac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Rlnplehshalo, Jun 17, 2012.

?

Would you opt for a retina display?

1. Yes

18 vote(s)
    36.7%
  2. No

31 vote(s)
    63.3%
  1. Rlnplehshalo macrumors regular

I personally would not choose this option for a few reasons.

- Price. We would be looking at $300+ for a slighly higher resolution.
    - Current resolution is already very high.
    - It would create problems for games, programs etc. in terms of displaying the content.
    - It would require a very powerful graphics card to run any form of game or graphic program at a retina PPI.

Anyway whats everyone elses thoughts? Would you or wouldn't you?

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Where did you get the price would be 300 higher? I think larger retina displays could potentially be much more expensive.

3. Rlnplehshalo thread starter macrumors regular

As I mentioned 'or higher' but I'm no expert when it comes to monitor pricing, just a guess.

4. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

The thing is the price for the display panel will dictate the desire for consumers to buy the iMac with a retina display. If the price increase is 800 or a 1,000 well the odds are good that most consumers won't.

So to rephrase your question, if apple came out with an iMac that only increased the price by 300, then I would consider buying one.

5. highlights macrumors newbie

If the cost was $300-500 more, then yes, absolutely. I do a lot of photo editing though, and use Aperture as my workhorse and Photoshop for finishing touches, both of which are/will be optimized for whatever display Apple comes out with.

I don't think it's necessary though, and I wouldn't pay more than $500 (and I think it's going to cost more than that when it comes out) to jump on it in the first release.

6. Pompiliu macrumors 6502a

Pompiliu

It may be high, but the screen is big, so the ppi is pathetic : ~110.