Would you please see if you can see my website?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by isculpt, Sep 2, 2007.

  1. isculpt macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #1
    Someone e-mailed me that was on a mac and said they could not see my website or even access it. I think it might just be a fluke but I would really like to hear what others see. I have spent a great deal of time on recreating the site and then have the server switch over which made things a nightmare. Just when I think everything is fine this person tells me they can not see the site. It does not make any sense I can see it and it was created on a mac. Please check it out if you would. http://www.creativesculpture.com

    thanks in advance.

    PS the only problem I know of is the slide show on the main page won't work in safari.
     
  2. teleromeo macrumors 65816

    teleromeo

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Location:
    kidnapped by aliens
    #2
    the site loads bu ther is a gap between welcome and the start of the body. Is there a picture missing ?
     
  3. 66217 Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #3
    It works correctly here. With Safari 3.

    But it has a big white space at the beginning.

    Picture:
     

    Attached Files:

  4. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #4
    My ISP's DNS was unable to find an IP address for the site... I tried whois'ing it to see if the actual IP address would load, but that didn't work either, so I dunno why I can't see it.
     
  5. mariahlullaby macrumors 6502a

    mariahlullaby

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Oh my gosh! I recognize those. They're all over The Avenue in Peachtree City, GA where I live...right?

    I love em!
     
  6. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #6
    Yep, loads up and I can see it, albeit after a bit of waiting.
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    I do think there's a registration issue... Whois pulls up a different IP address for the site than the university system (when I remote login to my Win2003 terminal server, I can see the page fine). It continues to not load for me in Safari or Firefox on my Mac at home (Cox cable internet). So from that I'd suspect the same may be true of the person who originally reported being unable to view it.
     
  8. isculpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #8
    Unfortunately the safari does not let you see the slide show. Which stinks, and I am trying to figure out if we should do away with it and get something else like flash. But that is something else entirely.

    Now about the disappearing web site. Some are reporting that the domain can't be found and that is bothersome. What on earth would prevent some people from seeing or being able to log onto that domain and other not? One person reports "I just tried emptying the caches to all 3 browsers. Tried again with each browser and had same results. Tried the google method again, same result. I restarted the computer, emptied the Firefox cache and then attempted to access. I get the same error each time I try, no matter which link I try.

    I have a DSL connection at home so it can’t be choking up with image sizes. At work when I last tried, I was on my iBook laptop with a dialup connection but I had all the same errors there trying all 3 browsers. I don’t have firewalls as I am not on any networks. Both computers are my own personal computers with my own internet service providers.

    I know I successfully accessed your site recently...sometime last week I think ...my best guess at the date would be Wednesday afternoon..."

    another reports they get a "server not found". Does anyone have any you any suggestions? What is happening?
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  10. EricBrian macrumors 6502a

    EricBrian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
  11. isculpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #11
    registered with network solutions years ago. Our server switched from wt net to nationwide a few months ago, their change not mine. I have them on the line now and they tell me the info on who is is pointing to them. I really appreciate your help.
     
  12. isculpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #12
    solution?

    After much time with my server people they said that there was an error a mistake in how they were pointing some people to the web site. Don't know when that began, and I would have never known had this person not pointed it out. They tell me it should be fixed in 24-72 hours. I would love to post again to see if you can see it then. Thanks for the input and all of your help.
     
  13. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #13
    When you get the thumbs-up that they have fixed their issue, I would be happy to try it again for you. :)

    While we're at it, though, that slideshow is a Flash embed, right? There shouldn't be any reason you can't get it showing in Safari... someone here should be able to help you figure that out.
     
  14. isculpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #14
    The slide show is not flash. The script on the index page that changes photographs is free and can be found at dynamicdrive.com. It is called ultimate fade in slide show 1.5. My husband helped me put it up. It looks great if you are in something other than safari. When we put it up we did not know it would not run on safari, he is not on a mac and does not see a real need to change it to something that everyone can see. I do, I'm frustrated that everyone can not see it. I convinced him to change to flash, We bought flash slide show pro and we cannot seem to make it do two pictures at once. We are trying to e mail the man back and see if he can help us out.

    by the way I cannot thank you all enough for your help and for coming to my aid so quickly. I worked hard on this site, the blog, the forum, the new gallery trying to get it ready for some major publicity that was going to come out about my artwork. Not having this stuff working cost me tons of money.

    It is funny that I sensed something was wrong. There just did not seem to be the average number of contacts from the site. You really need to trust your gut with such things.
     
  15. apfhex macrumors 68030

    apfhex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Location:
    Northern California
    #15
    I don't know if it's been changed or not since your posts but I can see the slideshow just fine in Safari 2.
     
  16. isculpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #16
    no it has not been changed. Just checked my safari it is 3 and it can't be seen. didn't know any safari could see it. thanks for the input
     
  17. iBlue macrumors Core

    iBlue

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, England
    #17
    I think it looks great.
    I could see everything just fine with Firefox and Safari (2, I think)

    Those sculptures are really cool!
     
  18. fivetoadsloth macrumors 65816

    fivetoadsloth

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    #18
    well, the first time I tried it it did not load, I than refreshed the page and it loaded fine, there is the large white gap however where I assume a picture belongs.
     
  19. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #19
    In terms of the host fix... it seems at least partially in progress -- my ISP was able to find you today. :)

    I noticed something else...

    [​IMG]

    I think this is an issue you'll have to be careful about if you support Safari -- Safari respects embedded color profiles, unlike the other browsers. I believe that's why you're seeing this. The "easy" fix, I believe, is to save the image as sRGB.

    Anyway, cheers, glad to see it running on Safari. As for why the fade javascript does not work in Safari 3, I'm not sure at all. :(
     
  20. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #20
    I'm at work on a Windows pc. It doesn't display the slideshow in Safari 3.0.1 for Windows either.

    Probably an issue with Safari 3 and your DOM detection method. If you do a quick Google search you should be able to find a workaround such as this but I've not tried this out so can't vouch for its validity!
     
  21. isculpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #21
    I was wondering how I would know when it was going to be fixed. I mean they said 24-72 hours, but there is no way for me to know because I can see it. I am so glad you are reporting that it is getting better. I could not sleep over this last night, thinking about all of those important press releases that I sent out directing people to my site. Oh well, breath......

    About the color thing in the bar. Would you mind looking at some of the other pages. I noticed this was problem when I was reworking the web site. Hubby created a graphic for some of the first pages and placed it in the bar. When I went on with the rest of the site, or most of the site I just did white type in the bar. Seemed to work better. I'll have to see about fixing this.

    ALSO-
    Would you mind looking at the gallery and see how it comes up in different browsers? I like it and have had no negative reports on it, but since there seems to be a universe of unknowns, I thought I should ask.

    Thanks again guys you are great!

    dcv- I spoke to husband and he said he is not a programmer and does not understand your work around. I know less than he does. Maybe we should just switch to flash for the front page.
     
  22. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #22
    Sorry - what I meant was, I wondered if there might be an issue with the way the Javascript code detects Safari 3 as something is throwing up an error in Safari 3 but apparently works fine in Safari 2. I did initially wonder if it might be in the code that detects the type of browser you're using, but seems it might not be that... it's possibly more to do with the CSS and the way different browsers appear to interpret/handle opacity and stuff...

    I've had a very quick look at the source and just wonder when you/your husband downloaded the Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow script from Dynamic Drive? Yours is version 1.5 but there is a version 1.51 script here, which was updated at the end of July and apparently this contains a bug fix for Safari 3.x :) I'd suggest that you replace your slideshow javascript code with that version and see if it works.

    Hope that helps, let us know how you get on!
     
  23. isculpt thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    #23
    DCV- I am impressed! Thanks for informing me of the new version. Hubby is going to check it out and see. It would be great if it was fixed. It really is nice.


    No more dissapearing web site, and other items! YIPPEEE

    Hubby put up new version of slide show on the front page. EVERYONE should be able to see it now! Dancing a jigg, little dance, little dance!!! thanks everyone.

    Of course, that is if no one else says they can't see it.

    Now just waiting for server guys and those 72 hours to fix the disappearing web site. Hopefully everyone can see it soon.

    http://www.creativesculpture.com
     
  24. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #24
    Success on my end in Safari 3:

    [​IMG]

    Good work! :)

    EDIT: Here's an example of how the graphic text looks vs. the HTML text:

    [​IMG]
     
  25. dcv macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 24, 2005
    #25
    Hurrah :)

    That's a really nice site you've got there by the way. Glad it's all working now!
     

Share This Page